Help to protect and restore ancient woodland near Herne Bay, UK


Gran Bretaña

433 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi Every body
    We are currently ideally looking for someone already in the uk. We do not have enough facilities for people to self isolate on arrival but are still very covid cautious.
    We really are in need of someone with good general skills , fit and strong that can manage five hours physical work approx daily
    We have structures to repair and create and have been ripping the woodlands ride with road stone bit by bit
    Other than that we are looking for two strong people to help with some physical tasks over the coming weeks months
    As winter approaches ideally a pair of people. It gets dark early and we are pretty much an early to bed family in winter.

    Our crew caravans have now been fitted with log burners instead of gas heaters

    Also you will have full use of the crew lounge and kitchen areas - but cooking together and sharing meals and cleaning up is so much easier as a pair.

    We are Chrissy and Andy, we have two daughters Allanah 26 & Rosie 17

    Sadly I feel we need to say at the beginning PLEASE do not ask to come if you do not want to be here. The first rule is that everybody is happy and adds to our positive vibe.

    We fell in love with our beautiful ancient wood as soon as we saw it and bought it to protect and restore it to its healthy condition. We aim to live as lightly on the land as we can practically can. The tasks can be hard and sometimes seems unending, but we love it and feel all our sacrifice is worth it.

    Andy is a qualified forester/tree surgeon who divides his time between his business and the woodland. I work two days a week as a carer, I run the family home and spend the rest of my time at the wood.

    Our daughter Rosie lives at home and is just starting her GCSE'S as a home schooled student and is currently more interested in the internet rather than the "outernet" although she has become more and more happy to be at the woodland . Our other daughter is not the outdoors type at all!! and lives in a town about 50 miles from us but also visits the woodland occasionally
    UPDATE : Rosie now loves the woodland and is on site permanently! . Amd is developing more of an outdoor appreciation although is a typical teen when it comes to h TV e internet she’s a mature and kind young lady too- quite quiet. She spends her time awaiting music college playing guitar and watching buffy.

    We are an easy-going family with a good work ethic, we have a natural respect for people and our environment. We like to have a laugh but without being too rowdy.

    We work at festivals in the summer months so in winter we are free to devote our time to the woodland.
    We do run a very small glamping space with three tents so we often have other guests on site

    keeping volunteer shared areas clean so cleaning is part of the volunteer week- and is an important part of maintaining your place here - we expect it to be kept to a decent standard of hygiene - but
    We are not looking for unpaid help with our business paying guests just the shared areas all helpers use :)

    Also we are not looking for paying guests
    This offer is for a Workaway placements only

    We have a Woodland Management Plan in conjunction with the Forestry Commission. We are keen to get on with this but need help.

    It is our family policy to treat people as we would wish to be treated , think before you speak as words can so often leave permanent memories and generally be kind to each other xx

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a little community
    We really exchange your help for complete kindness , we are all equals here

    Experience Designated Ancient Woodland and the flora and fauna living in it.

    Understand what the UK is hoping to achieve by protecting certain areas, and what can be done to ensure their survival and health.

    Learn and practice your English and perhaps teach us some of your language and culture. Andy is deaf and has two hearing aids - this means you need to be fairly fluent for understanding each other although he manages well communicating in general and is happy to teach new words and phrases ect

    He loves to play chess - occasional darts and poker

    Experience off-grid living with sustainable energy .

    Learn some English crafts.

    Learn about the trees and plants that live in UK woodland and how to care for them.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    This is 8.5 acres of newly-owned designated Ancient Woodland.

    Current lockdown projects include flood management
    Repairs to sheds ect
    We want to get caught up on basics so we can build a three tier rain water collection filtration system

    We need help to clear debris and fauna of overgrowth and windfall wood. There is a great deal to do so we can proceed with our Woodland Management Plan.

    As we work, we try to take time out to play and are happy to share our new skills in carving and whittling the hope is to turn tree stumps into fairy homes by carving, wood burning, and creating miniature gardens at the bases, very little is wasted or unwanted here, we love to make beautiful things for the wood.

    Tasks are primarily:
    chopping logs
    clearing brambles
    barrowing and laying bark chips
    tree help
    Building maintenance

    This placement is ideal
    For a couple or a pair of friends
    Singles are not a problem just that the evenings can be lonely. We tend to hang out at least one eve a week in the crew lounge but predominantly we work hard and sleep early.
    We currently have one live in permanent staff : Lel his is very funny and kind and always willing to spend time with helpers (when he is not working. Full time as a tree surgeon )and show them around the local area.

    Chrissy often needs help with computer bits and bobs too

    and occasionally:
    visits to an elderly relative’s residence for cleaning, decorating etc.

    You need to be physically strong and happy to be left alone in woodland (some moonless nights are very dark and visiting wildlife often make strange noises). Summer months the nights seem as bright as the days sometimes

    Ask you help five days of five hours starting 9am breaking for half hour in the middle for lunch.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    A caravan with heating*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ and lights. We are solar-powered here so you will be able to charge phones and play music. We have a generator that we use sparingly for extra power, and we can charge bigger items at our house if necessary.the caravan is very basic but along with this we have the crew camp. Read below

    Possibility of being offered a bell tent through summer or a sofa in the lounge tent to allow more helpers
    If you are happy with a tent please let us know ( you still hVe the lounge /kitchen and shower ) just use the tent as bedroom.

    There is a shower here and composting toilets, in separate buildings.

    A basic stock of Food will be provided for you to cook yourself. The burger van kitchen is used as a food store and has a working fridge. There is an sheltered kitchen with two gas rings and a sink too. or you can go wild and cook outdoors! Snacks and fruit will be provided, tea, coffee etc.
    Often Chrissy gives money to go to the butchers or farm shop and choose food and when Chrissy is on site in the evening she will occasionally cook for everybody

    There is provision to wash up. It is really
    Important to keep the space clean and tidy so not to attract pests

    We can do laundry, but please make up a full load as we prefer not to mix your washing up with others.

    phone charging and laptop charging can be done in the lounge During the day only as we rely on the sun
    We have a lounge tent with comfortable chairs, a table, and board games if you want to socialise in your free time. we tend to join the lounge at the weekends.
    UPDATE : lounge has log burner for evenings of games and socialising or just reading / chilling in the warm
    This is also where you may charge phones/laptops

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Heating in the caravan. Is a log burner and logs are obviously free as part of the thank you

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a bus stop at the end of our lane, the station is 2k away (we can arrange lifts).

    The historic City of Canterbury is 20 minutes away. In fact the whole area is rich in history both in the built and natural environment.

    Herne Bay, Whitstable and Thanet are popular seaside towns where there is plenty to see and do.

    There are local shops within walking distance.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We hve a mobile modem in crew lounge however we can only run this in daytime hours when we are running generator

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max 25 hours

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 567677923283