Come experience the amazing seasons in central Ontario, and lend a hand around our place, in Canada



69 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    My eight year old son, the family dog, 11 hens and I live on10 acres of maple trees and other mixed hard and soft woods. We have miles of trails for hiking and biking, as well as several lakes in the area. This is the best mix of Central Ontario countryside with amenities close by and the town of Orillia is less than 10 minutes drive away.
    In the summer it's a lush paradise of green, in the fall the colours of the maples are spectacular, winter brings that big blanket of white, and spring amongst the forest is a delight to watch as the forest comes back to life!
    Our central location in the province is great for travellers, as we are only one and half hours north of Toronto International Airport. We are a gateway to the Muskoka region where the rich and the famous frolic in the summer on the beautiful waters of Lake Muskoka, Joseph and Rosseau. You can try your hand at kayaking on Lake Couchouching, and we also have a boat for summer fun.
    In the spring (generally late February through mid March) it is maple syrup season. This is the sweet-ist time to visit! lol Last year we made over 20 liters of the delicious all natural syrup, and we want to beat that record this year!
    Ever wanted to jump in a big pile of red leaves.... come experience the fun that Canadian kids take for granted every fall when the leaves put on their brilliant display of red, orange and yellow and we celebrate Thanksgiving with family and friends.
    Winter is outside fun time too! Weather depending we have a backyard ice rink. You can hike/ski/snowshoe on the trails that are directly accessed at the back of our property. Downhill skiing is half hour drive away. Build a snowman, or have a snowball fight. Christmas is a fun and festive time with a real pine Christmas tree we cut down ourselves, and celebrate the holidays with Canadian and Polish traditions.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The natural beauty of the land and surrounding lakes brings many tourists to our area. The maple trees are very special since sugar maples are not found all over the world. Come and see a typical Canadian household (is there really such a thing?), and immerse yourself in our culture.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are in need of a single or couple (only one queen bed available) volunteer to help with general work around the house which can be any time of the year. For this job common sense and mobility is all you need... and hopefully you are skillful in the kitchen! Daily chores include helping prepare some meals (maybe you have some special recipes to share), kitchen clean up, house cleaning, feeding the dog and taking care of her, feeding and watering the girls (my 11 egg laying hens who are a hoot to be around), yard work (gardening, leave raking and blowing, snow shoveling, forest clean up, tree pruning) and small projects such as painting, helping clean out the sheds, window washing, firewood stacking and splitting..... with 10 acres of land there is always something to be done around here! While child minding is not the reason to be here, there will be times when you will be required to watch him so if you don't like kids then this job isn't for you. He is a great kid, is in school all day, and is fairly self sufficient.

    Depending on the time of year there are season specific jobs that the can be in addition to the helper as described above.
    Fall (sep/oct) leaf raking and blowing ~ yes this is a full time job around here!
    Spring (late feb/march) ~ helping with maple syrup production (involves emptying buckets of sap, and monitoring the wood fired evaporator, finishing/jarring and taste testing the product!)
    Late spring (april/may/june) making new gardens, maintaining the gardens, planting
    Summer (july/aug) maintaining and harvesting the gardens

    Are you already skilled with a chainsaw? We need firewood cut and split and this can be done anytime of year.

    Are you a skilled cabinet maker or furniture painter? My ex husband runs a cabinetmaking two doors over as well and can always use help to make furniture and kitchens/vanities. You must have experience already to help in this capacity although he would be willing to do some training to maintain our high standards and continuity of product.
    We also paint and stain the cabinets ourselves so this is also an area where you can learn the artful skill of finishing. We stain, paint and do specialty finishes such as glazing and distressed. Safety gear provided. But you must be able to pay attention to detail and not mind being in a paintshop environment.

    Are you a skilled builder/handyman that can help fix my chicken shed? It is in need of repairs, needs work on the fencing, and I want to prepare more coop areas for next summers flock of meat birds and secondary areas for the hens.

    As you can probably tell, there is lots going on around here. Never a dull moment. I just purchased this property and I have a big to-do list. The canopy of maple trees makes this a very special place. We have great neighbours, and live in a very safe area. I love travelling, have lived in Europe, and was in the Canadian Military for six years. I welcome you to our home. I want to hear your stories, and share our collective experiences and knowledge. We are into healthy eating, and this is a NON smoking scent free property as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    My house has four bedrooms so it is quite large. There is a large bedroom with a queen bed in it for the workaway. All bedrooms are on the second floor. In the warmer temperatures we have a tent trailer that can be used to experience mother nature a little more if that is your thing:) We have wifi, netflix, and plenty of Cdn mother nature!!!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The town of Orillia is only a ten minute drive away with parks, lakes, swimming, a paved path all through town for bikes/rollar blading/walking/jogging, movie theatre, cafes and bars, and shopping. A few minute bike ride will bring you to the Orillia Square Mall, No Frills grocery store, Canadian Tire. We have a boat and kayak for summertime.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 555125532354