Come help us with house renovation, gardening and animal care in the heart of the Belgian Ardennes



44 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

  • Descripción


    Update 30/06/2021: We will not be hosting any workawayer until spring-summer 2022. See you then !

    Hi there!

    We are Marie (30, French) and Edward (32, Flemish) and we live in a really tiny village in the French-speaking part of the Belgian Ardennes.

    We live in a big beautiful old house, which we are slowly renovating and upgrading. We have a cat, Neko, who likes to hunt mice outside and relax with us inside. We also adopted 2 rescue dogs: Ves, who is learning step by step how to be happy after quite a bad start in life, and funny little Obi, who is super playful but also quite shy with strangers.

    Edward works on a variable schedule as a truck driver. I work as a veterinary assistant in a dog shelter, while finishing my studies in the same field.

    We have been workawaying for 1 ½ year in Norway, just before coming back to Belgium and settling here. We have helped hosts with various projects in 8 different places, notably a Shetland pony farm, a cheese making farm on the fjord, a tiny hotel on an island in the far north, and we also spent 6 months caring for and training 30 sled dogs… Many beautiful experiences and memories!

    Now that we are settled for a while, it only seems natural to give back by becoming hosts, and let the travellers come to us. The house is way too big for us so our first goal is to share the space while having fun :)

    Here, you’ll be part of our little family and we will do our best to make your stay enjoyable!

    As the amount of work is not so huge, we are looking for people who can stay for shorter periods of time: 1 or 2 weeks is fine. We are quite flexible regarding dates.

    We appreciate it if you read our entire profile before contacting us. When you send us a request, please mention the names of our pets, this way we will know your read everything. We will consider personalized requests much more seriously than impersonal, copy/pasted ones ;)

    So please don’t hesitate to give us a shout if you are interested and we will make it work.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!

    Marie & Ed

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We think Workaway is the best way to meet people from all around the world, open our minds on many subjects, share experiences and stories, learn from each other and grow as individuals. We enjoy sitting around, drinking beer or wine and having long conversations about life, the universe and everything…

    I (Marie) absolutely love to cook! I am looking forward to cook tasty meals that we will share together. Because I think food is an essential part of cultural exchange, I would also love to trade recipes and prepare meals with you if that is something you like.

    As hobbies, we:
    - love to watch movies. We have a TV but none of the normal TV programs, only Netflix, and some good films
    - tend to devour books, and like a good old board game sometimes
    - are very fond of music too: a lot of metal, but also classical, folk, some electro, old school stuff… We always like to discover new artists. I have 2 acoustic guitars so feel free to grab one and play! Besides, I could use a few lessons ;)
    - also have a more geeky side, as we (and Ed especially) enjoy playing all sorts of videogames.

    But what we like most is just going for a long walk with our lovely dogs, and exploring our beautiful region. You will have lots of free time to enjoy it as well!

    We can take you to visit nice local places with great pleasure! There are museums, beer breweries, castles... If you want to go to Brussels or another big city, we can give you tips but will let you explore by yourself. We have lived close to Brussels for a few years and now we are not so interested in visiting busy places and cities anymore.

    If you would like to share a hobby or a passion with us, please do! We are so eager to learn more about you and what makes you happy.

    We can also help you practice a language, whether it is French or Dutch. We will be delighted to learn new words in your language as well!

  • Ayuda


    In 2021, we are taking a little break from working in the house, and we will not be hosting anyone.
    We will probably resume in summer 2022, and these are some of the tasks we will need help with:

    - Paint inside the house
    - Place mouldings on ceilings
    - Power wash
    - Upgrade the garden and sow plants
    - Coat the wooden terrace with protective oil
    - Stack some firewood
    - Plaster some exterior walls
    - Renovate the guest bathroom

    And of course, we would appreciate it if you could give us a hand in keeping the house tidy and clean, and taking care of the animals! We love to go for a walk with Ves and Obi, they love going outside and you are very welcome to take both dogs for a stride in the beautiful nature that surrounds us.

    If you have any knowledge about gardening, we would really love to learn from you on how to take care of the garden in the best way :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Norwegian: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    At home, we speak a weird mix of English, French and Dutch. We are always glad to learn new languages and incorporate new words into our vocabulary!

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own room in our house, but we will all share one big bathroom and toilet together. We will provide you with bedlinen and bath towels.

    We usually leave our dirty shoes in the hallway and use indoor shoes or slippers inside. You are welcome to bring yours.

    As for the meals, we usually :
    - have a light breakfast (coffee for Ed, fruit juice and a few biscuits for me)
    - for lunch we eat bread with various things to put on it (cold meats, cheese, eggs, salads, veggies, pickles...), sometimes soup
    - for dinner we eat a warm, cosy and tasty meal, different every day! I cook various types of cuisine: French, Asian, Belgian, Italian...

    Hours of meals mostly depend on our work schedule but should be quite normal, around 12:00 and 18:00. We are omnivorous, but we try to eat responsibly and I regularly cook vegetarian meals. If you follow a specific diet, please let us know so that we can see if we can accommodate it.

    We hope you will feel at home!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We like to see ourselves as easy-going people and we try to enjoy the small things in life! We live in a village with around 200 inhabitants. The closest shop is 4kms away, and there is not so much going on here, so obviously it’s quite different from city life. Please take this into account: if you are looking for a lot of entertainment options, this is not the right place.

    We sometimes have family or friends visit but overall we lead a quiet life, just the 2 of us and our pets.

    If you love silence, spending time surrounded by green hills, energizing forests and flowing rivers, you will like it here! In your free time you are welcome to just hang out in the house, go somewhere, with us or by yourself. Please feel free to create your own entertainement or do some activites on your own.

    We can host a single workawayer, a couple or two people travelling together or separately.

    An essential thing: we will only accept people who are respectful, caring and interested towards animals, dogs especially. Ves has spent the 1st year of her life in the streets of Bucarest, being mistreated and beaten. Then she was rescued and spent 2 years in a shelter before we adopted her.

    Obi was rescued from the street in Spain and has lived in several foster families before finding is forever home. He is a real clown, he loves to play and goof around, he's quite irresistible. But he also has his little quirks, he can be very elusive and shy sometimes.

    We are slowly trying to build their confidence back but there is still a long way to go. It is important to be patient and calm around both Ves and Obi, to not yell or be brutal, to accept that sometimes they need space.

    Please bring clothes that can become dirty or stained! And overall, clothes that are practical to work with. Hiking shoes or sturdy sneakers are also a must, and a rain jacket.

    If you don’t have your own car, we can pick you up at the nearest train station or bus stop. We will provide the necessary info so that you can make the best travel arrangements.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 554824786392