Join our family farm and help set up our homestead in Winlaw, rural Canada

Country

Canadá

17 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    295

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 5 (3 kids aged 0, 2, 6, and a dog) and our room-mate Joe and his dog. We are former travellers putting down roots. We are a community minded household - we do things to help each other, and we work together to make things happen. We are LGBTQ friendly and not tolerant of racism/discrimination. Currently we are in the process of setting up a new homestead, and need all the help we can get! we have chickens and will be getting sheep and pigs in the very near future. we have 1 large garden at the moment, as well as a large market garden planned, lots of fruit trees and bushes, and a creek and pond on the property with meadows throughout. 30 seconds away from the Slocan River, 20 minute bike ride to the town of Winlaw, 45 minute drive to the towns of Nelson and Castlegar.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    you will learn about agriculture, sustainability, food sources, ecology and natural systems, plant medicines, etc, as well as getting to see how we live here in rural canada!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a family homestead on 2.6 acres of land, in the process of setting up and becoming self sustainable. We have been here on this land for just over a year. Being a new farm, we have tons and tons of projects on the go. Currently we are doing spring burning, installing waterline/water systems, building and expanding our current garden, starting a new market garden, fixing snow damaged fencing, installing new fencing for pigs and sheep, as well as a new run for our chickens, building a duck house, building a stone patio/outdoor kitchen/sauna/greenhouse, tending and planting more fruit trees/bushes... as well as daily chores such as watering and feeding livestock, taking care of the kids... taking breaks!, etc. Having been wwoofers and volunteers before, ourselves we understand that not everyone is good at everything and are open to you doing what you are good at, or what you want to learn! we will do our best to not give you tasks you aren't suited to. There are 1000 and 1 jobs to choose from!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We share meals, and eat a mostly fresh organic diet, supplemented with eggs from our chickens and produce from our gardens. We eat (mostly local, organic, happy) meat but can accommodate vegan/vegetarian diets. You will always be fed yummy nutritious food! Some days you may have to prepare your own meals, but ingredients will be provided.

    Your accommodations while here will be a small 1 bedroom(queen sized bed, dresser, and closet) ground level/basement suite, with a full kitchen and bathroom(shared with Joe, who works away, 10 days at a time)and full laundry facilities(shared with the whole house). We have a large indoor craft space/loft/party space in our garage, if you're crafty, you're welcome to feel free to get crafty :) we have wifi, and long distance calling as well. if you would like to camp there is tons of space for you to set up your own tent/gear, as well as an outhouse. however, please bear in mind we directly border wilderness, there is wildlife!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We expect that you're an early riser, as we like to do about 4 hours of work in the morning, before it's too hot, followed by sleeping and swimming the afternoon away(or going on adventures to beautiful local getaways)! and then sometimes an hour or two of work in the evening. There is bus access to Nelson or Castlegar 6 days a week, and we can usually provide rides into Winlaw or Slocan City. When conditions allow, the Slocan river can be floated in an inflatable raft or innertube for several kilometers. There is excellent access to wilderness trails, rock climbing, flat water paddling, whitewater, etc. We have a two week cap on stays, but if you're a good fit, you're always welcome back.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 542527925583