Homesteading and Seed Saving on the South Shore of Nova Scotia- Canada

Country

Canadá

61 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    491

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are now accepting workaway interest for the season! June-October, variable lengths of stay. We welcome your interest, read on for our farm's description!

    Our Farm is small family farm tucked away on a dead-end gravel road on the South Shore of Nova Scotia-- 10 km to downtown Bridgewater, 20 km to Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, or LaHave, 25 km to beaches, and less than 100 km to Halifax. We have 20 acres of fertile soil on a gently sloping drumlin hillside, 200 acres of forests and wetlands to explore, and frontage on a pristine spring fed lake. Wildlife is abundant, though kept from the main farm area by our trusty farm dog, and includes ospreys (nesting within view of the field), owls, loons, eagles, songbirds, deer, raccoons, porcupines, pheasants, wood cocks, coyotes, rabbits, and the occasional roaming bear or bobcat.

    There are 12 old apple trees, countless wild apples, and wild blueberries in the field, and we are in the process of establishing a diverse perennial crop system of fruit, berries, nuts, and herbs. We have around 2 acres in cultivation for annual vegetable and grain crops (1 acre fenced), and a 20'x48' greenhouse. The heritage post and beam barn is useable although currently under renovation. We have a couple of outbuildings and a 20'x48' greenhouse. There is ample tenting space, a cozy barn loft, as well as our 28' camper bus available for long term workstayers/apprentices.

    Our primary commercial product is ecologically grown vegetable, grain, herb and flower seeds- we currently maintain close to 200 varieties which we sell through our website, retail locally, and wholesale to a regional seed company. We grow a homestead-scale vegetable garden, selling excess produce to a local cafe. We also raise ducks (eggs and meat) and pigs for home use.

    We have been farming together for over 15 years in the northeastern U.S. and Nova Scotia, always according to organic principles and standards. We do not even use organic sprays unless absolutely needed, preferring cultural methods of pest control. We add generous amounts of organic matter to our soil, including composted manure, leaves, and seaweed we collect from the beach. We use fish/seaweed emulsion as fertilizer when needed, and inoculate plantings with a broad spectrum mychorizal inoculant.

    This is our farm’s 10th growing season; thoroughly entrenched in the start-up phase of a diversified operation, we are in the midst of numerous projects. Thus, we are accepting workawayers who have interest and capability in homestead tasks while keeping up on garden tasks.

    - maintaining garden for seed production and homestead food

    - maintaining/establishing perennial crop systems (nut, fruit, berry, and herbs)

    - barn renovation, specifically re-siding with cedar shingles and building root cellar

    - basic homestead tasks/chores (firewood, ducks, processing storage crops)

    Farm work varies with the seasons:

    - June: Bed preparation, planting, and mulching.
    - July: Weed and pest management. Firewood cut, split, and stacked.
    - August: Seed crop harvesting. Weed and pest management. Wild blueberry harvesting.
    - September: Seed crop harvesting and processing. Storage crop harvesting and preservation.
    - October: Seed crop harvesting and processing. Apple harvest and processing. Storage crop harvesting and preservation. Garden cleanup/bed preparation. Collection of seaweed and leaves.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We enjoy sharing cultural experiences with others and living in community. As we were farm volunteers and apprentices ourselves before buying our own land, we value being able to provide an opportunity for interested people to experience rural and rustic living at a homestead. We are happy to share our varied knowledge, skills, and experiences with workstayers.

    We do not rely on volunteer labour to run our homestead or farm business, but rather enjoy having willing extra hands to get more accomplished/faster. We have had very positive experiences with visitors that are a great fit for our situation, so happily continue to offer our farm as a host.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for 5 hours help per day for 5 days per week. Throughout the season, heavy physical work is a must- lifting, wheel-barrowing, shoveling, digging, raking, etc. We believe strongly in setting a pace that is both productive and healthy for body and mind, being present and mindful, and taking adequate breaks, but it must be understood that hard physical work is central to small-scale farming and will be a necessary central feature of the workstay experience. That being said, our farm experience includes varied tasks with lots of interesting things going on to learn from. Workawayers need to be self motivated and willing to integrate themselves into our lifestyle. And we have found that previous work experience is much less important than a person's work ethic, positive attitude, and general willingness to work hard outdoors. As a farm family with two children, volunteers willing and capable of child care is an asset.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workstayers can bring their own tent/borrow one of ours or stay in our cozy barn loft as available. Our 28' bus camper and 17' camper trailer are an option for longer stays - in 2021 these are occupied until November. Board consists of farm raised veggies/fruit, eggs, and basic groceries (flour, rice, oil, pasta, etc). Workstayers are welcome to come along on town trips to stock up on their favorite foods, or borrow a bike to ride to the local farm market/bakery 5 km down the road. We enjoy communal meals and usually incorporate one shared meal per day, with rotational cooking and cleaning up. As we are relaxed, easy-going people who prefer flexibility, we would rather allow everyone to feel in charge of feeding themselves/doing their own cooking chores, with the option to share family style meals when it suits everyone’s schedules and needs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our workstay opportunity is ideal for people who love to spend most of their time outdoors, enjoy physical work, have interest in living off the land, and are comfortable camping out. We work hard and enjoy relaxing by a campfire, playing music, and swimming in the lake. We have canoes to take out on the lake, and bicycles available to borrow for sightseeing. We are well connected socially with the active and growing rural community on the South Shore. In a "normal" year, there are frequent social events and concerts, and there are still plenty of outdoor recreation opportunities in the area.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 522719733768