Gardening, eco-projects and DIY in the Dordogne, France

Country

Francia

9 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm Howard. I'm from the UK originally, but now enjoying life in the Dordogne, France. I have 4 grown-up children, and recently 2 grandchildren. I live in a rural area surrounded by fields, which produce (on rotation) corn, wheat or sunflowers during the summer. There are beautiful walks, cycle tracks, markets and coffee shops & restaurants close by.

    For work I'm the chairman of a UK company that builds living reefs (ccell.eco) to counter beach erosion and rebuild some of the coral reefs we've lost through climate change. Our recent projects are in Mexico, Israel, UK and the Maldives. I'm also a member of a group - we run sustainable living workshops and build tiny houses. Our tiny houses are made from wooden euro pallets. I'm happy to share what I know, help you with your sustainable journey and learn a ton more myself.

    My home is a converted stone barn with 4 bedrooms, study and a combined lounge, dining area and kitchen. I have about a hectare of land, with a large swimming pool and a cabin, which I recently built with the help of friends. I'm gradually converting my home and garden to live in a more sustainable way, and eventually want to be completely off-grid.

    I speak some French, but mostly converse in English. I also have a cat called Ginger - actually it belongs to my neighbour, but he seems to prefer living with me and the neighbour is happy.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This area of France is pure country living with lots of farmland. But it also has an amazing history through the middle-ages; there are many chateaux close by and some beautiful towns and cities, like Perigueux, Bergerac, Brantome and the historic sites of Sarlat, Domme and St Emilion. All with amazing stories to tell. And then the magnificent city of Bordeaux with the longest shopping street in Europe and amazing tram system. There is a frequent train service into Bordeaux - I'm happy to run you to and from the station.

    And if you fancy just lazing by the river, there is a lovely river beach about 10 minutes by bike.

    The village in which I live has a pub/restaurant that usually has a menu for €18, which includes a starter, main, dessert, wine and coffee. The menu changes each week. At the weekend it hosts live music.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm looking for one person or preferably a couple to help around the house and garden, some eco-projects and DIY projects - nothing too heavy and quite varied work throughout the season. Around 4 to 5 hours a day, five days a week. It would be helpful if you're happy to use garden equipment - like a strimmer, lawn mover, hedge trimmer and wood chipper. I can teach you how to safely use these if they're new to you, and I have all the necessary safety equipment.

    I'm a tidy person and would ask the same of you - keeping the kitchen, lounge and dining area clean and tidy, and making sure the house is reasonably presentable. I'd prefer not to accept habitual smokers, but don't mind if you want the occasional puff outside.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I've loved the French language since I was 11 years old and had to give a speech to the local French mayor and officials during a school exchange trip. So, having the opportunity to continue learning is a real bonus for me. If English is not your first language and you want to learn, I can help.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll have a large double bedroom with big sofa (pictures attached). It is south facing with its own steps out into the garden. There is also a smaller single bedroom with a lovely sleigh style bed if needed. The mattresses in both bedrooms are firm. I can offer you your own bathroom with a shower and bath, and access to the rest of the house. I also have a (nearly) new washing machine, which you're welcome to use.

    You are free to enjoy the garden, patio and the swimming pool.

    I will provide you with food. Maybe let me know beforehand if you've any food likes or dislikes or any dietary constraints. I'm mostly plant based these days, but do eat some locally produced meat and fish from time to time. I'm happy to share the cooking and I've no problem with meat, fish or dairy being stored in the fridge and cooked in the kitchen or BBQ.

    Please be aware that I'm not able to offer step free access to any part of the house or garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I have bikes that you can use to explore the countryside, or cycle into the next village for bread and pastries. There you'll also find a pharmacy, supermarket, post office, coffee shops and a bank. There is a bus service at the end of the road that infrequently runs between the larger towns, so you need to time your journey.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    My wi-fi connection is pretty good (I can stream Netflix without interruption) and I have plenty of quiet workspaces, including a cabin with a desk in the garden.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I can accommodate a camper van, although the access is quite narrow and close to the house. You'll need to watch out you don't bump the satellite dish! It's no problem if you prefer to stay in your camper - I can run a cable out to you.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 519849915857