Help me care for foster puppies in Vila Nova do Ceira, Gois, rural Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

63 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 16 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am English, a retired teacher and live in a rural area in central Portugal in a comfortable house with plenty of space. The accommodation for Workaways is an en suite bedroom with a kitchen and living room. You will have to top floor of the house mostly to yourself. the bed is kingsize and very comfortable. I like to meet new people and am very relaxed about sharing my space.
    I have a dog and two house cats, and I foster puppies for a local animal shelter - at the moment I am looking after eight who live outside. Because the aim is to get the puppies adopted, the number and age of the puppies I have with me is always changing. I usually need help with their day to day care and particularly walking when they are ready to be lead trained.
    The countryside around is green with many beautiful walks. I am 100 metres from a river beach which has a cafe serving drinks and food in the summer months, the local villages are small and friendly and there are many beautiful walks in a valley surrounded by forested hills.
    I do not have a car but there are enough shops for my needs in walking distance. Once you are here there are few local buses so exploring the wider area is not really possible without a car.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The local Portuguese and English community are very friendly and kind. People are always happy to say hello and talk as you are walking around. There are growing numbers of residents from various European countries and many visitors during July and August especially. For most of the year it is an experience of traditional rural Portuguese life.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Priority is helping with the puppies. I have a litter of six who are approx 7/8 weeks at time of writing. Now it is picking up poo and playing, as they get older they will need more exercise and some basic training. There are two older ones that I am working on socialising and lead training. All the puppies are registered for adoption and they usually find good homes when they are ready. My job is to give them a good start.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are two spare bedrooms and shower rooms. The house has two kitchens with cooker, fridge, dish washer and washing machines. It can easily be treated as two separate accomodations if required. It has been renovated to a comfortable standard and there is enough space for privacy or shared living as needed. There is also lots of outside space.

    I don't cook for myself every day so I would expect guests to prepare most of their own meals. I am very happy to share when I am cooking, I enjoy it. There are two fully equipped kitchens So no problems with sharing space. I can provide basic supplies. Sometimes I have to be away but there will always be someone responsible present. I need Workaway to be flexible.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    To make the most of local sights it would be good to have your own transport as there is a limited bus service. Coimbra is about a 40 minute drive from my house and from there the rail services are excellent. There is a bus to Coimbra about 0700 or 0800 hours and a return in the evening. There are also local taxis.
    I enjoy a lot of walking and am able to get a lift to a local town with a friend occasionally.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Excellent internet connection through most of house

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Safe off-road parking close to house

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 519167542172