Food Forest help and natural building in Oleiros, Portugal

Country

Portugal

60 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Wanderers,

    We are Aidi and Stefan, a couple with roots from Estonia and Germany, currently living in Portugal.

    This is new project in central Portugal, on aprox 5 ha land with forest and agriculture terraces. The land here has been abandoned for decades, its soil, trees and waterways need love and care.
    All around us are pine plantations, which need attention and re-planting with native trees to bring back wildlife and biodiversity.


    LATEST UPDATE!!
    Urgent help needed with following tasks:
    *General help with garden maintanance, cooking and building.
    Stefan is a carpenter but we would be happy to have another person with *CARPENTRY skills, there are several projects on hold - building a chicken coop and animal shelter, building a geodesic greenhouse and many more smaller constructions. * We would also appreaciate a STONEMASONS help, we are keen to learn about dry wall building and how to handle our abundance of rocks here. :))))))))

    As we are seeking to live in harmony with nature and its cycles, we wish to follow, explore and apply permaculture principles, agroforestry and keyline design, regenerative and biodynamic agriculture.
    Our aim is to produce food in abundance, to feed ourselves and those in need, to live off the land to maximum as possible, to promote local and homemade produce and of course share everything locally within the community.

    TASKS in PROGRESS:
    *clearing the waterways - there are several springs (water mines) with clean water DONE!!
    *designing areas to retain water
    *building temporary compost toilets DONE!! :)
    *setting up outdoor kitchen DONE!!
    *leveling terraces and access roads DONE!!
    *designing and preparing the land for permaculture, natural building and re-forestation
    *design and start with fire prevention measures
    *planning the vegetable gardens (Done) greenhouse, irrigation systems
    *building a wooden shelter for carpentry workshop and tools
    *building a shelter for firewood DONE!!

    NATURAL BUILDING PROJECTS:
    *geodome greenhouse
    *building a wooden cabin for winter shelter DONE!!
    *yoga platform (pavillion)
    *building a pizza/bread oven
    *we are planning an earthbag COB house (start next spring/summer)
    *natural swimming pond (infinity pond)
    *vermicompost toilet
    *renovation of old schist house
    *repairing supportive stone walls on terraces and building new dry walls

    ART PROJECTS:
    *cob and wood works
    *upcycling
    *painting

    OTHER IMPORTANT PROJECTS:
    *having fun :)))
    *exploring, building and installing alternative energie systems
    *rainwater collection and water harvesting
    *recovering underground water tables and improving the groundwater flow
    *gray water and waste managing
    *composting
    *getting donkeys :)
    *and many more exciting projects to come...

    Our farm is situated in one of the most remote and wild places in Portugal. If you enjoy spending time in nature, long walks without seeing other humans, exploring caves, swimming in rivers and cold waterfalls, then this place is for you. :)
    There are many walking trails and just down the road, 1km, is swimming place in beautiful Zezere river.

    We are on the edge of tiny village where only a handful of elderly people living who are very friendly and happy to receive visitors. There is no cafe or shop in the village, but we have an idea of using old cafe terrace to organise jam sessions and pizza days. :)

    Closest bigger town called Oleiros is aprox 14 km away, there you can find all amenities and public transport.
    We regularly go on shopping trips where you can join in if you have special needs.

    We have all the necessary tools for tasks, good electric tools and solar power to keep them working.
    We are also happy to share with you our skills. Stefan is a carpenter and mechanic and is interested in alternative energies and natural building.
    Aidi - passionate gardener, herb witch and alchemist, yogini and traveler, she is happiest whilst talking to plants, hugging trees, playing with her dogs, cooking and sharing her knowledge and stories.

    We also have 2 beautiful female dogs, Gipsy and Osa, who can share their skills of having endless fun!! :)))

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Staying with us will offer an opportunity to explore portugese countryside and get to know local people and their ways, as well we will share our skills and endless travel stories and how we ended up in portugal. We have lot of knowledge about travelling, living in alternative ways and being self-supportive. :)

    While we love to chill and have fun, we are also hard workers and quite often like to be in our own quiet space.
    But dont worry, you will never feel lonely, because there will be many friends who come along to help and there are nice like minded people living in proximity. It will be fun family atmosphere, with good food, music and motivation! :)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are specially welcoming people who have experience and expertise in permaculture design, water management, forestry and tree care, natural building, landscaping and stone workers.
    We would also appreaciate someone who would help us with cooking task, we are vegetarians. :)
    We also welcome people who enjoy physically demanding tasks such as digging, cutting wood, lifting stones and creative building.
    Since this is a beginning of the project, there will be so much to do and you will be helping to kick start an amazing project what will benefit the local community and the ones who particpate and gain experience in the process.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Estonian: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As this project is only starting up, we offer the sleeping in the camping tent and provide matress, blankets and pillows (NOT IN THE WINTER!)

    During winter months we offer accomodation in cozy camper van, it has electricity, heater and kitchen. And we welcome people with their own campervans. :)

    The climate here is a bit milder than other places in portugal, but if you are sensitive to summer heat, please be prepared. Nights are colder, bring warm jacket, We have pillows and blankets to share.
    Winters are cold and wet, warm and waterproof clothes are a must. :)

    We eat as one family and share our food with you, 3 meals per day. We are vegan/vegetarians, our diet is based on wholefoods and lots of fresh vegetables and fruits, but will be considerate towards all wishes.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is direct bus from Lisbon to Oleiros, 3,5 h journey. We will pick you up from Oleiros.
    Just outside of Oleiros there is lovely riverbeach and camping area if you want to spend some time there.

    It is useful if you have drivers licence, you are welcome to use our car if you wish to go alone on shopping trip or for a short explore of the area. :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We welcome travelers with their own camper vans. We have several parking spaces, with beautiful views and in very peaceful setting. Spring water is nearby, and we have compost toilets.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We welcome all pets who are getting along with our 2 friendly female dogs, Osa is belgium shepherd (she is usually submissive but she can be rough when it comes to food, she loves to play and make new friends) Gipsy is a pointer mix, she is a bit shy of new people and new friends but she loves to play and run. They are both rescued and young age, 1,5 years and 2 years. We are not sure how they behave around cats, so we cant promise that cat owners will be at ease here, but we are planning to get a pair of kittens soon, so Osa and Gipsy must adapt to new family members. :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 492628429224