Enthusiastic, friendly helper to help in my home in an authentic Sapri, Italy

Country

Italia

24 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Helping hand needed around the house for a busy English teacher, who works from home...

    I am a private language teacher and I live in the south of Italy, in a small seaside location. I work for myself and in general do a combination of not for profit teaching as well as voluntary work teaching English in my community. Last year I managed to help over 100 people learn English for free in my local area in addition my job.

    With the recent events of COVID19 things have changed quite a bit for me and my students. However, I dream of eventually creating a not for profit educational project in my area which will eventually hopefully help support many young people find work and enjoy learning English...

    Since I started 3 years ago, I’ve helped more people every year and every year I hope to continue improving.

    I’m an easygoing, friendly hardworking person and as you can see one who keeps following my dreams. However, I’m so busy I need a helping hand around my home which is quite large.

    I’m outgoing and enjoy good company, love to spend as much time as I can outdoors, read, study and genuinely just enjoy a simple life .

    I moved to a Italy around 5 years ago (by accident really and just never went back...)

    The place I came to Sapri is a small and extremely quiet Italian town on the coast , surrounded by mountains where hardly anyone speaks English so it’s a great place to just relax, enjoy the outdoors and learn or develop your Italian.

    It’s also well connected by rail to cities like Salerno, Naples and Rome so it would be a good base too, for travelling around. It’s a very quiet place in the winter so is more suited to someone who has their own interests, creative pastimes such as creative writing, photography, art, meditation or yoga and who enjoys an outdoor life. It’s important to be an independent person who loves great company but is also happy in their own company.

    It might also suit someone who is thinking of doing an online course to qualify as an English teacher because of the nature of my job I could help you gain an overview of that world, as my home is always busy so living with me could give you an insight or someone who is studying Italian would also benefit from the location where I live.

    Where I work is my home and this year I’ve moved to a more spacious apartment overlooking the sea so I now have the space to accommodate a volunteer comfortably so they can have a great experience.

    I’m a private teacher who teaches mainly individuals and small groups from home. As a volunteer it’s important that you’re comfortable being part of my daily life and space as it is used both for living and working purposes, as such there will be students of all ages with me most of the time which may not be everyone’s cup of tea.

    For me I hope that having a workawayer share my home will also give an insight to my students and allow them to see the possibilities that travel can offer and so that I myself will have the opportunity to speak in English more,It’s surprisingly easy to forget things in your own language 😊

    I need help mainly just as an extra pair of hands in general around my apartment, as I don’t always have as much time as I’d like to do all the daily things I need to do to keep it in order as a result of my work.

    As a volunteer who would be living alongside me an understanding of the nature of my job is important because the young people who I teach are often around and love anything and anyone new, as they are curious by nature so having them around would need to be something that a volunteer would need to enjoy being a natural part of and feel comfortable with.

    I need help mainly around the house in general to clean and tidy and I have a small dog so he loves walks and attention if you like animals. In short I’m looking for a volunteer who doesn’t mind giving me a helping hand in general and being part of my busy daily life.

    This is a volunteering experience, not a teaching role but because of my job if you have an interest in becoming an English or Primary teacher, I’d be more than happy to share my knowledge and an insight in that area, so the opportunity may suit someone has a desire to teach in the future.. In fact it could well be one of those perfect opportunities to learn so an added bonus to the experience.

    In general more than anything it’s important that whoever shares my home and workplace enjoys the company of young people and children and spending time around them, as they’re always around my home so a natural part of daily life. it’s important to me that any volunteer has a clear awareness of this because I want them to have a great experience.

    I lead a very busy life but I genuinely believe in the importance of cultural exchange, travel and sharing your life with new people. I’ve been lucky enough to work and travel around the world so as a host I will always do my very best for any volunteer who joins me to have a great experience.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn all sorts, firstly I live in an ideal place to learn and develop your Italian. It’s a real Italian town where very few people speak English.

    As I’m an English teacher who works from home, if you want to learn all about teaching English or are doing an online TEFL course and need help with that or just about teaching or working with children and young people. I’d be happy to share my experience and an insight in my world.

    As a teacher, I’m very much part of my VERY ITALIAN community and my students’ lives, so if you want to experience Italian culture and community this would be a great opportunity.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    4-5 Hours a day 5 days a week
    general help around the house with cleaning and tidying up, shopping, cooking if you like it, and walking the dog if you like animals (he’s very small and cute and has a lot of fans!)

    In general I just need an extra pair of helping hands, someone who’s enthusiastic, reliable, good company and enjoys having fun!

  • Languages

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Italian: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bedroom with own bathroom, in a shared apartment with host.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Sapri is very small a hidden gem on the southern Italian coast, we have a mainline train station serving destinations such as Salerno, Naples (2 hours) and Rome ( 5 hours) and buses which serve the local area such as Maratea, Villammare and Scario. All transport is within walking distance of the apartment and very reasonably priced. You can also take the train to Sicily from here...

    The town has everything you need within walking distance shops, bars , restaurants, gyms and a cinema (only in Italian). However, in the winter it’s extremely quiet so would suit someone who has their own interests and pastimes and who is happy in their own company and enjoys practising Italian as very little English is spoken.

    It’s a sleepy town but has a stunning seaside location, surrounded by mountains and nature. It’s not for everyone but certainly offers something really special for the right person. It’s strongly recommended that any person wishing to volunteer takes the time to research the area before expressing an interest in volunteering here.

    Due to the nature of my job and the fact that I work from home, a female volunteer would be preferred and those volunteers who could stay for longer from October-June would be ideal as that’s the time when I need most help around my home but a shorter stay of three months would also be helpful. It’s not really ideal for stays shorter than a month as as I’m very busy so it’s more challenging for me to manage them.


    I’m not vegetarian but if you are I’d do my best to accommodate your needs but I am a none smoker and therefore I would prefer an none smoker to share my home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 475683326422