Looking for help around the house, lots to see and do 5 miles in from the ocean in Oceanside, California.

  • Estados Unidos
  • 592 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21/01/2023




  • Descripción


    I live most of the year in my southern California home here; part of the year on my New York mountain property, and part traveling the country a bit. I am largely at home building my simple gardens and, mostly, strengthening my health. I am an herbalist, yoga teacher and expressive arts teacher, enthusiastic about earthy, creative, and peaceful living. My son recently moved out to live on his own, so you will see mention of him in reviews, from when he was living with while we hosted others.

    I live on top of a hill with gorgeous views of the sunsets and sunrises. For city living, it is very peaceful, rich with bird song and fresh ocean breezes. At the same time I am in walking distance of stores, hiking trails and public transportation.

    I think you will find it a relaxing place to be, whether you wish to stay close to home or explore the area. I think you will find me easy to get along with. I appreciate a more family feel to hosting.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Between my home here and another on the east coast, I have been hosting people from around the world for over ten years now. It has been an incredibly rewarding experience for me and, from what I have heard, for most of those who have stayed. I enjoy meeting new people and having interesting discussions, sharing world views, and evening card games :)

    I am happy to share my knowledge of the area and getting around on public transportation. I am passionate about simple healthy living, yoga, expressive art, and plants as medicine. I love sharing with anyone interested. So feel free to ask questions!

    I live only 5 miles in from the ocean, less than an hour from San Diego and less than two hours from Los Angeles, both incredibly rich in culture and activities. I am outside of the cities enough to have open space, but near enough to take easy day trips by bus or train. Daily trips to the local beaches are easy enough as well. Within walking distance are hiking trails.

  • Ayuda


    The things I most often want help with here are detail housecleaning and/or outdoor garden work:

    Cleaning - My whole house is only a studio, 560 square feel total (52 square meters)! The size of some people's bedrooms :) So keeping the kitchen, bathroom, living and sleeping areas clean is a pretty easy task. I may ask you to do some of the daily basic cleaning of sweeping, dusting, vacuuming, dishes, counters, laundry, trash, etc., though more likely I will be looking for someone to help with the more detailed cleaning that is usually only done once weekly - like toilet, sinks, showers, mirrors, windows - or even those things done only once monthly or seasonally. Outside I have sidewalks and a nice adobe brick round patio that I would like kept swept and neat as well.

    Outdoors - There are several small gardens, some for pretty, some for food, that at certain times of the year, especially after I have been traveling, can use some detail cleaning out. Sometimes I will want help with some digging or moving of dirt, or even a small landscape project. Also, certain times of the year I could use help keeping up with watering, and other times, help with getting plants started from seeds or cuttings or divisions. I do not need you to have garden knowledge, just a willingness and ability to do the physical work. With the perennial trees around here, raking and sweeping are a continuous job I will likely appreciate your help keeping up with.

    You are responsible to prepare and clean after your own meals, and keep clean after yourself. I ask about 25 hours a week. I do not keep a time clock. I ask you to make sure you put in your hours. Since cleaning, though sometimes done daily, can be done most any time in daylight hours, you do have the benefit of setting a schedule that follows your personal interests about the property or out and about. I am flexible and we can always discuss schedules in advance. I only ask you keep to any commitments.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would love to refresh my grade school french I never used. I am currently studying Swahili and would love to try it in person. Also, I would love to one day learn Greek!

  • Alojamiento


    In trade for your assistance you can stay here and have access to any of the food in the house and gardens. As mentioned the whole house is a one room studio, so your sleeping space would likely be a futon or mattress laid out in front of the couch on the floor, and put away during the day. If you prefer, for more privacy and more permanent setup, I can provide a simple tent set up on the property with the same futon and bedding; the weather here is mild and dry enough so this can be a pleasant experience, except perhaps December through February.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is so much to see in the area. It is southern California! The weather is very pleasant and great for an outdoor life. Once we get up in the morning the doors go wide open and stay that way all day as we easily come in and out. The public transportation is easily accessed from here (if you don't mind a little hilly walking) and reasonably priced. So are Uber and Lyft. I am happy to help you navigate your options.

    While I may have a glass of wine or such now and then, I ask that there is no heavy drinking here. I do not want any smoking here, or even tobacco smoke exuding from a person who steps away to do so. I am also uncomfortable with excessive swearing. (Strange things to note, but they have come up over the years :))

    Because of the small space I ask that if you have times out at night, to not return later than 10pm, unless we have talked and agreed about it first, since that could be disruptive to my sleep.

    There is a lot of outdoor space so when you are not working there are places on the property to lounge or read or write, paint, etc. and have your own independent time. I enjoy being social, yet still enjoy and respect private time for myself and others.

    I am currently working on building my health. Your assistance will give me time to focus on that and on enjoying my gardens. For my health, this largely means more time for me to relax and heal, do more yoga, and focus on the diet that is most nurturing for me at the moment.

    I eat a wide range of foods here, with a central focus of organic, mindful, and locally sourced foods.

    I do have wireless internet here. There is no tv, though I do watch shows and listen to music from the internet. There is a shower, no bath tub, and a laundry on the property. The laundry costs quarters which I am happy to provide for regular laundry loads during your stay.

    When you write, please let me know that you understand the size of the house and sleeping arrangements, and let me know what in particular attracts you to this listing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a decent consistent internet connection with an extender so we can sit outside on the patio. This is great given the southern California weather which allows for a more outdoor life. Plus, most of the work I ask of people here can be done on one's own schedule. This allows you to be able to do other things, even those with time commitments. Finally, There is enough quiet to be able to confidently settle into online work uninterrupted.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About 25 hours a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 451815279252

Comentarios (2)



Lend a hand on our beautiful farm in a wonderland of nature near the Cherokee National Forest, USA
Share our life experiences at our home in Kauai, Hawaii, USA