Help me with daily life and childminding in a stunning location on the Aran Islands, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

28 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Available: 29th March on

    I am a teacher, and live with my teenagers. You would have your own room, and help with household tasks and some babysitting. Cooking, companionship when I am working.
    Your role would be like that of an au pair who gardens. I’m a teacher in the school down the road, and am at work most of the day.

    Like the admirable gardens of some of my neighbours on the island, we are trying to grow our own food. The island has the advantages of a longer growing season than the mainland, as well as ample supplies of free fertiliser, in the form of seaweed, which we collect on the beach.

    There is digging and weeding to be done, and fertiliser and sand to be bagged up at the beach. Planting is on the agenda for spring and I’d welcome any other gardening suggestions you might have - it’s a work in progress!

    If you’ve an interest in learning about individual micro-climates, you could research while here and talk about it with me and we can see about applying the know-how. I’ve only been here three years, so it’s not second nature yet, like it is to the growers born and bred here.

    If you like cooking, and meal-planning, then great for all of us, as I am kept quite busy with school. We order supplies from the mainland that arrive the next day and a fortnightly veg box brings us variety and extra vitamins. There is a shop on the island, if you’re worried about occasional emergency chocolate cravings or similar. It also has a post office; all the best shops do!

    I am the opposite of a micro-manager and enjoy letting people work independently. Previous Workawayers have said that way works well for them.

    We have a cat, he loves love, and sitting in warm places.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Beautiful Island off the west coast of Galway. Native Irish speakers and Irish culture. Active sea-swimming group.
    The Aran Islands could be seen as a world apart from what we’ve become used to as “normal” life in cities in the Global North.

    Nothing moves faster than a freewheeling bicycle down a moderate slope. The shop closes for lunch and on Sundays. The weekly mass in the Catholic church happens on Saturdays because the priest has somewhere else to be on Sundays.

    We have great facilities in our schools here; our government is eager to support us, in terms of funding, so our kids have no shortage of teachers or technology.

    Island life and the Irish language are worth preserving.

    John Millington Synge, writer of The Playboy of the Western World, spent time living here, and famously commented that the best learning about people is done in places like this, not in Paris or in Universities.

    You can sit in his chair at the west end of the island and watch the sunset, about a half hour walk from the house. The sunrise end of the island is a similar walk in the opposite direction. If churches are your thing, there’s a little beauty across the road.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Cooking and meal-planning, housework, interaction with whichever teenagers are home, gardening and gardening ideas, painting if you think you’d like to take it on, chat: this is a house alive with chat if chat is your thing. I’ve had a pretty interesting life, working in unusual places, camping and van-living.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Irish: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Shona: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am an Irish teacher

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Single bed that others have found very comfortable, desk, chair, shelves, window. Shared bathroom with very good shower. We eat together in the evenings.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Beautiful scenic walks, active music group in local pub, daily swimming group.
    Great map of the island here:

    Interesting German documantary here:

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Good internet connection, at home. Community centre has high-spped wi-fi.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Would have to bring vehicle over on cargo boat-Lasta Mara in Galway

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Any pet considered

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 448823867266