1 / 2

Help me with my home improvement projects in the forest of Beasley, Canada

  • 93 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 nov 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    I'm 48 years old, and a former senior designer and project manager for a skateboard park company that works all over the world. I grew up in Vancouver, and escaped to the best place in the world 3 years ago, with a list of projects and dreams to bring to life on my 30 acres here. I love to eat healthy local food, think freely, ride my skateboard / snowboard / mountain bike / road bike, swim, hike and travel. I also am in love with yoga, meditation, and am moving toward supporting and teaching others in the areas of spiritual and personal growth. I'm chill and easy to talk to, friendly and pretty high energy. I like my music loud, and my people happy and free. :)

    My property is incredible. 30 acres of wilderness for you to explore, just 10-15 minutes from the best little city in Canada. It gets tons of sun, and everyone who comes here seems to just love it.

    I don't have wifi or internet out here, so you'll just need a good data plan on your phone if you need internet access while out at my place here. I just tether off my phone when out here. There is public transit into Nelson from here, it takes about 20 minutes and it looks like it goes about 5x / day.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My 30 acres is just 10-15 minutes from Nelson BC. It's a beautiful environment here, we have elk, deer, rabbits, hawks, eagles and more right on the property. I can show you some of the foods you can just pick and eat, and you'll be a part of a pretty major project. I've designed and had my house built, brought in power, water, roads etc. I'm now finishing off the house, then getting into creating an area for outdoor events like concerts, yoga and meditation day-camps, outdoor movie showings and more. As well as a small farm! It's an exciting place with an exciting vision, and it's absolutely beautiful here.

    Then the town of Nelson, what a special place. I moved here for a reason. It has the culture of a big city, with a vibrant arts and music scene, dozens of huge murals painted all over town, incredible restaurants, some of the best mountain biking / skateboarding / skiing / hiking in the country, a beautiful lake to swim in, and incredible people. It's such an artsy, unique, forward-thinking even spiritual city. It has a great history of mining, logging, hippies and draft dodgers...and it's now home to everyone from artistic old hippies to beautiful young outdoors enthusiasts to tech startup company owners and everyone in between. It really is an extremely unique little town in the mountains. There's nowhere else like it in this entire country...that's why I moved here! You will meet an incredibly friendly and unique cross-section of Canadians here.

  • Ayuda


    Hi! I'm just finishing off my new house, and working on surrounding projects with the land. The work is pretty varied being such a huge list, so it's likely there's something for almost anyone including:

    *staining and painting
    *hunting for some items on need in the free and used sections of sites like Kijijii / Craigslist
    *assistance or fully taking on some light, simple wood construction projects like a wood shed
    *construction requiring a bit more skill like installing corrugated steel paneling on a shed, building a chicken coop, building a cordwood sauna
    *splitting and stacking firewood
    *falling and bucking trees w/chainsaw
    *limbing trees with pole saw
    *general yard cleanup
    *landscaping, shoveling
    *wildcrafting / foraging on the property for some of the foods that grow here
    *cooking meals
    *cleaning the house
    *general yard work

    I'm pretty flexible, if you've got interest and skill in even some of the above, let's talk!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    My house is only 1 bedroom, so you're very welcome to use the bathroom and kitchen during the day and well into the evening. I have a big tent, large enough to stand up in, along with some tarps to create a covered area for you. You can choose anywhere you'd like to set up on this 35 acres! There are some perfect sites very close to my home, and some beautiful places that are more removed and quiet, whatever you like!

    I'm flexible regarding food. I can provide food, with you cooking for yourself, perhaps preparing dinners for myself and you some days if you're comfortable with doing that. Otherwise, you can prepare food on your own in the house kitchen. The amount of work time requested of you will of course change depending on the food arrangements that we decide on together. Let's just work out something we're both happy with.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your free time, Nelson is a fantastic "tiny City" to hang out in. Typically you can go to the classic Lakeside Park where you'll find people practicing circus performance (there's a circus school in town), playing frisbee and hacky sack, soccer, doing yoga, swimming, chilling etc. There are a ton of yoga studios, meditation groups, sound healings, music shows of all kinds from folk to hip-hop including some surprisingly big name acts that come through town, tons of DJ's, a big rec centre, hiking trails right in town, a killer skatepark, insane mountain biking, top notch cafes and restaurants, historic turn-of-the-century buildings, art galleries and more. Boat and paddle board rentals right in town, the list goes on.

    Further afield, there are natural hot springs, phenomenal alpine hikes, old ghost towns, historic sites, alpine lakes, beautiful ferry boat rides across the lake (the longest free ferry ride in Canada), waterfalls to hike to, old growth forests to explore, really unique small historic towns to check out, music festivals and more.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a great nook where I had my own travel trailer parked while I built my house. It was a 22' and fit in no problem.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I've got 35 acres, your well-behaved dog that gets along well with the neighbourhood dogs, doesn't wander or chase wildlife, and doesn't mind being tied up is welcome. I LOVE DOGS! With 30 acres, I could accept llamas or a flock of sheep, too.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week - depends on what we decide on food

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 427395324151

Comentarios (2)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)