Organic gardening and community living in the beautiful countryside of Kampot, Cambodia



1011 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Have you ever dreamed of living in a community of like-minded people, working in a beautiful garden, learning new things every day, eating fresh fruits and vegetables, and trying to become as self-sufficient as possible? Do you feel like going back to the roots, to a more simple lifestyle, in cohesion with Nature? Join us as a volunteer and experience all of this!

    We are a young project (started in early 2018) that aims to create a place where people can reconnect with themselves, others and Nature, far from the craziness of the city. Our main focuses to develop it are:
    1. Cashew nuts - Our farm is based on a cashew orchard and that's a product we want to value.
    2. Mushrooms - We have experience cultivating Oyster mushrooms and are interested in expanding to other varieties like Shiitake.
    3. Community - Volunteers coming from all over the world and Khmer people, living as one big family.
    4. Sustainability - We do our best to live in a sustainable way, respecting nature and reusing available resources.

    The owners and creators of this place - Denis and Singyi, a belgian-khmer couple - went back to Belgium for several months to support the project financially. Therefore it is now Sinya (the sister) who is in charge of the place, with the help of her parents who also live on the land. But the ones who truly make this place alive are YOU - the volunteers! Ever since we started to host people the dynamic of the project has changed a lot, and we love to see the wonderful things we can achieve when people from all over the world come together. We like the idea that everybody can make the project its own somehow, so we care a lot about feedback and ideas from volunteers.

    We grow organic vegetables, mushrooms and fruits but we aren't self-sufficient in food yet, so we want to develop our gardening skills to get there as soon as possible - we are however 100% self-sufficient in electricity (solar panels) and water (from the rain). During the first year of the project, we have built three earth houses, a cob oven and a solar dehydrator. We also have composting toilets and an ecobrick station to reduce our waste. As for leisure time, we have a natural swimming pool, a fire pit, games (pétanque, table tennis, foosball...), bikes, books and hammocks to nap in. Finally, we have a small shop at the entrance of the farm in which you will find the bare necessities as well as snacks and drinks.

    Please read carefully our full description so we are clear about how we will evolve together.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Volunteers will live and work with a Khmer woman (Sinya) and a group of volunteers from all around the world (can be up to ~10). They might also interact with her parents, daughter, and nephew - even though they don't speak English - We hosted a few Cambodian volunteers and want to have more in the future to develop the interaction between locals and foreigners. We still do our best to share the Khmer culture and encourage volunteers to explore the area in their free time to get a feel of the local life.

    Other than that, volunteers will have the opportunity to learn about gardening/permaculture, mushrooms cultivating, building, cooking (making tofu, Khmer recipes) and many other things depending on other people present at the same time - volunteers don't only learn from us but also from each other.

  • Ayuda


    By staying with us, volunteers may experience the following activities:
    - gardening work (watering, planting, preparing compost, improving the quality of the soil),
    - natural building techniques (when we are building new bungalows),
    - natural products making (herb tea, skin care, soap,etc.),
    - collecting cashew nuts (from February to May),
    - recycling (plastic trash into ecobricks, old clothes into sponges, etc.),
    - animal care (we have 4 dogs, 2 cats, and 6 chickens),
    - cooking activities (meals are prepared by volunteers),
    - artistic activities (mostly during their free time unless it is for a special project)

    Please consider that in volunteering with us you will be joining a community, which means that the 'work' won't end on the field. Taking care of the household, the tools and the animals, respecting the timetable and helping each other all day long are essential for all of us to enjoy our time here and live happily together. Furthermore, we expect every one to consume as mindfully as possible - whether it's food, water or any kind of supplies. If you're not willing to actively participate in this, it's ok, there are plenty of other projects you can join. We want to make sure that we gather people who have the same mindset and ecological values.

    We believe in the permaculture ethics - Earth care, People care, Fair share - and are progressively implementing the permaculture principles in our farm. We are also very influenced by the Buddhist philosophy and interested in developing a meditation/yoga practice in our project - if you have experience in either of these and are willing to guide the group during your stay, you are more than welcome to do so!

    We expect volunteers to help 5 hours per day, 5 days a week. Saturday and Sunday are off for everybody, then on the weekend, you can either go out to explore the local area further or stay on the farm and participate in some extra activities.

    SHORT TERM - We ask for a minimum stay of 2 weeks, that can be extended longer after discussion depending on how you feel with us and how we feel with you. Please be honest with yourself about how much time you can commit, or consider applying another time.

    LONG TERM - We are also looking for people with solid experience in the following areas to help us on the mid/long term: gardening, mushrooms growing, project management/organization, natural building, beekeeping or English teaching. Minimum commitment of 2 months, extra advantages (visa extension fee offered, private room, team-leader position, ...) - if you are interested and have any question, feel free to ask!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Khmer: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Volunteers will sleep in a dormitory, inside our home (see the big house in the picture). We provide bed sheets, blankets, pillow cases and mosquito nets for everybody. Please consider that the mattresses we have are thin (Asian standard), so if you absolutely need a comfy and fluffy bed to sleep you might want to look for another place. Fans are available during daytime only as we turn off the electricity at night, from 9pm to 7am approximately.

    Here's an idea of the daily schedule:
    - 6am to 6:30am: wake-up, prepare breakfast
    - 6:30am: breakfast (coffee/tea, peanuts, fruits from our farm)
    - 7am to 7:30am: water the garden
    - 7:30am to 10:30am: work activities
    - 10:30am to 12pm: prepare lunch
    - 12pm: lunch
    - 3:pm to 5pm: work activities
    - 7pm: dinner
    - 8pm: daily meeting

    We also organize the following weekly activities:
    - Monday: collaborative meeting, tour of the farm for the new volunteers
    - Tuesday: Khmer cooking
    - Thursday: tofu making
    - Friday: feedback session, sharing circle around the fire

    To make your stay more enjoyable, here are a few things that we suggest you to bring:
    - natural mosquito repellent, soap, laundry powder and eco-friendly toiletries
    - clothes that you don’t mind getting dirty, stained or holed
    - earplugs
    - musical instruments
    - card or board games
    - books
    - external battery
    - headlight / lamp

    In exchange for the daily help, we offer free accommodation and 3 meals/day - mainly vegetarian. If you have any food restriction or allergy, please let us know so we can find an arrangement.

    We don't have Wi-Fi on the farm (a great opportunity for you to do a digital detox!) but you can buy local Simcard and recharge 1$ per week.

    IMPORTANT - We want our farm to be a place where people can distance themselves from any kind of addiction and get a healthier lifestyle - showing our kids a better example at the same time - therefore smoking, drinking alcohol and using drugs are not allowed here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We welcome new volunteers every Monday and ask our usual tuk-tuk driver to pick everybody at the durian roundabout in Kampot at 2pm - the price for the ride is 13 dollars, shared between the number of volunteers coming that day. If you travel by your own means, we will send you the exact location on Google Maps.

    On the day off, we can arrange a tuk-tuk for the volunteers who want to go to Kampot, Kep, or the local sight seeings (more information below). We also have an automatic motorbike (only for people with driving experience) and 2 bicycles available for rent.

    Here are the main sight seeings in our area:
    - a small village - 3km away
    - the not-so-secret Secret Lake - 9km away
    - a temple cave - 12km away
    - pepper farms - 13km and 15km away

    Thank you for reading until the very last word of this page and please contact us if you have any question ;)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours/day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 412288489811