Looking for an English native speaker for a cultural exchange in Wroclaw, Poland

Country

Polonia

79 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/03/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a happy French / Polish family living in Wroclaw (Poland), the economical, cultural and intellectual capital of Lower Silesia, situated 160 km East of Germany and 120 km North from the Czech Republic. With a population of about 650.000 inhabitants, Wroclaw is the fourth largest city in Poland. Throughout more than a thousand years of history, Wroclaw was at the crossroads of different cultures: Polish, Czech and German. All this influenced Wroclaw being a place of tolerance today, open to new ideas and challenges, famous for its hospitality. The extraordinary history of this city is constantly enriched by prestigious scientific, cultural and sports events – with the biggest event in Wroclaw’s history: UEFA EURO Tournament in 2012, European Capital of Culture in 2016 or The World Games in 2017.

    We are a family of 3+: 2 adults (mum & dad), 1 teenage girl (almost 15) and a 5 years old beagle. Both parents usually work Monday to Friday and are dedicated to some additional activities. But we try to spend as much time together as possible and enjoy the time being. Our focus is on what matters most to us - our family. Travels, lifelong learning and adventure are a big part of our lives. We are a family that likes to keep busy and fill our days with a variety of different activities. We are very friendly and open. It doesn't matter where you are from, we would simply like to make you a part of our live for a moment.

    Our daughter has a lot of hobbies: piano, violin, taekwondo, diving, horse-riding… and currently she’s even exploring new possibilities such as computer programming.

    Our dog loves to walk, run, eat, sleep and play.

    After having spent many years in the South of France, we moved to Wroclaw in 2008 and really enjoy our life here. We had a couple of experiences hosting Aupairs and a few as host family for participants of big cultural events. We have considered all of them as very rewarding and have been keeping in touch with most of people we met.
    We are all fluent in French, Polish and have all a good level of English making communication easy with us. That being said, no one is perfect and there is always room for improvement...

    We live in a lovely small house with garden in a quiet and green area not far from the city centre. The place is safe and quite calm, nice for walks, running and bike riding. Our house is nice, cosy and clean. Smoking is not permitted at home.

    Most of the time we eat at home, we try to run healthy life style (cooking, gardening, sport, etc). We are not a very TV family, however we like to watch a good movie. We appreciate to sit by the fire (wood stove) with a good book, but also to learn new things: e.g. currently we try to learn how to restore old pieces of furniture.
    We would be happy to share with our guest: cooking, baking, learning, worldwide travel experience, board games, biking, hiking, gardening (depending on season)… You will we able to experience half French half Polish lifestyle, traditional cuisine, healthy food, fun free time, cultural activities, evening talks and much more, depending on how much will you want to get. We are deeply open-hearted and wish you enjoy living with us, sharing your life experience, your culture and your knowledge.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living with bi-cultural family can be interesting to discover – two-in-one. We have lived in many countries and travelled to many others, but still wish to discover more about other people. We love to laugh, to cook, to sing and to talk for hours.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for creative and joyful Workawayer, who would like to share our life for a while, to learn more about the city and the region we live in, to inspire us by her/his personal experience.

    Our basic expectations are to have a cultural exchange, to have fun together, to help our daughter to develop new way of thinking and learning and to practice her English (ours too!) by everyday activities - anything that is natural, but also engaging would be great.

    Beyond the basics, we hope that you would help to keep the home tidy - occasional sweeping, vacuuming, walking the dog or just noticing what needs to be done would be nice. If you would like to cook or bake, that would be great! Some help with light refurbishment works or computer programming would also be very welcome.

    If you have particular hobbies, passions or skills we would love to discover them!

    We would like our Workawayer to be a member of the family. We are quite occupied with our daily routine, trying to keep harmony, but often very spontaneous. Therefore our Workawayer should feel like at home: knowing where to find what, asking anything in case, having initiative, simply being helpful and willing to join any family activities/meals, etc… However, we are absolutely aware that respect of both parties privacy is necessary.

    We welcome our Workawayer for either short or long term stay with us - depending on both parties needs and expectations.

    Please feel free to ask any further questions about us or anything else you would like to know.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our house is an old small 3 storey terrace-house. We don't have a dedicated guest room, but you will have our daughter room as your own bedroom, sharing it with her a little during day time (warderobe, books, …) and a bathroom shared with her too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a very green and quite area, but close to the city center. There’s a good public transportation network – there are 3 tram lines and 2 buses’ stops at 2-3 min walk from our house. It takes 15-20 minutes to reach the Old Market Square.

    The city is rather safe and offers a lot of interesting things to see and to do. It became a very internationally minded city so there are many people from around the world here.

    If you want to travel out of Wroclaw for the weekend or explore Central/Eastern Europe we recommend you PolskiBus. There is also a railway station and an international airport offering connections to many Polish and European cities.

    For more information about Wrocław, one of the prettiest Polish towns, do some easy research on Internet. Some nice movies are also available on the web.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 396573393238