Immerse yourself in French culture and help us to 'minimalize' our life near Toulouse, France

Country

Francia

38 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/12/2019

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! Immerse yourself in French culture and help my husband (Francais) and I (American) 'minimalize' our life!!! Our home is in a small village 45 minutes outside Toulouse in the foothills of the Pyrenees. We have a 17th century village house that has been remodeled into a luxe industrial loft style home. Although we love our home we would like to downsize our belongings and embrace a more minimalistic and eco friendly lifestyle.
    Albeit small, our village is quaint and well equipped with all the necessities (boulangerie, boucherie, restaurant, pub etc...). There are many country farmers markets during the week and weekends (including the famous Sunday market at Montbrun Bocage), wonderful hikes, bike tours and historical sites to see in the region.
    We partake in frequent local outings (winery tours, 4x4 tours, weekends at our apartment on the mediterranean etc) in which our guest can partake. Our downsizing project once gotten off the ground should leave ample time and energy to take advantage all the southwest of France has to offer!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a french and american mixed household. We speak both french and english in the house, however as i am only at the intermediate level in french (i moved to france 3 yrs ago not knowing any french) we try to speak often in french. i conduct my own study sessions each day and teach pilates/yoga classes in french- which our workaway guest could join me in - it is a great environment for anyone trying to improve or learn the french language.

    Additionally, we (i) immerse ourselves fully in all aspects of the french culture and country life......food, wine, markets, historical events, and more food and wine as we are both gourmands and very good cooks!! We love travel, music, film and art and would be committed to exposing our guest to as much knowledge and fun as they would like!

    I make weekly trips into Toulouse as i am a member of a few non-profit associations. Our guest could accompany me on these outings in order to experience the city and socialize with locals and other expats alike.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for someone highly organized who can help me with clearing out our storage and who can set-up selling or donating items we no longer need.

    Tasks/Details include
    - A bit of cleaning and some trips to the dechetterie (dump) will be involved along with daily household organizational projects.
    - Proficiency in the computer skills necessary to set-up and monitor selling websites and social media sites such as Ebay, Leboncoin/craigslist, Facebook etc will be necessary (VERY IMPORTANT)
    - We will be speaking english primarily
    - Please have the ability to work autonomously without micro managing
    - Having your own laptop or tablet would be a plus but is not necessary

    Hours per day can be flexible.....3-4 max. Most likely the start of the project will be a bit more hands on and after the bulk of the work will be on the computer and can be done in the evenings or mornings leaving lots of free time. My husband and I are very easy going and fun to work with, it should be an easy project to accomplish.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our workaway guest will stay in the guest accommodations in the 1st floor of our home. There is a very comfortable bedroom (bed, dresser, hanging rack available if needed, chair, side table, all linens) with an outdoor patio and a large bathroom (shower, sink, toilet, amenities, hair dryer, chair, all linens). The living spaces and our bedroom are on the 2nd and 3rd floors so it is a very private arrangement.
    The rest of the house is extremely comfortable and spacious including 3 living areas, a large chef/entertaining kitchen, 2 terraces (one with a jacuzzi), excersize room, laundry room. Our guest is welcome to treat our home as their own.
    I typically cook at home aside for a few times out at a restaurant per week. Our guest would be included in all of our meals (lunch, dinner) and arrangements would be made for any nights we are not eating at home. Shopping can be done together to ensure there we favorable snack items and essentials stocked :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your time not working there are many places to explore in the immediate area. There is a bike available for nearby tours and transportation can be arranged for special outings. There is a train line in the village 15 mins away that can offer many interesting day or overnight trips (Carcassone, Bordeaux). We also have an apartment in a town on the mediterranean (Sete) that may be available to use for a night or two.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 385335166677