Help on our sustainable farm and share your stories with us in Tasek Gelugor, Malaysia

Country

Malasia

actualizado  

27 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is Jern (37) and my wife, Kai (35). We are farmers who started to practice self-sufficient since a year ago. We are staying in a small village in Penang. We have a land of 2 acres and we are using a third of it for our farm. Furthermore, we are still operating one Airbnb listing which is located at Penang Island. So we will need your help for the cleaning job as well.

    You are welcomed to stay with us if you like to experience farm life together with us.

    **Only serious volunteers
    Please read the rest of our profile and do let us know if you have any other questions.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We wish to make friends with people all around the world because we love to. We used to be rental hosts and we have met many guests and eventually we become friends. We learned a lot from them via cultural exchange through conversation. Malaysia is a unique country with different ethnicity, culture and religion. You can stay with different hosts to understand more about our country.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - DIY projects (build greenhouse, build trellis, irrigation system, chicken coop...)
    - Farm work (planting, harvesting, fruit picking, weeding, fertilizing, composting...)
    - Bed making, house cleaning

    We are willing to share you everything we know about farming and we wish to learn anything about farming from you as well.

    **We prefer volunteers who can work independently as well as good self discipline.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Malay: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in a private room in our house. Shared bathroom and toilet.
    We will cook three meals a day most of the time. But sometimes we will just order a takeaway. You are welcomed to cook with us as well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    OUR LOCATION:
    Penang is one of the 13 states in Malaysia. There is Penang Island as well as the Penang Mainland (on the Peninsular of Malaysia). We are on the Mainland. There will be less attractions at this part of Penang. If you would like to explore our state capital, i.e. Georgetown, it is located on the Island. We will go back to my parents house once a week, which is located at Penang island. You can follow us and we will drop you at Georgetown for sight seeing during your off days.
    FYI, it takes around 45mins to an hour to go to Penang Island from our place.

    TYPE OF FARMING:
    We have a self-built small greenhouse, with hydroponics and aquaponics system in it. Our goal is to convert the hydroponics to aquaponics. We just started to grow our food organically on the soil. We mainly grow our greens, herbs hydroponically and aquaponically. And plants like okra, eggplant, corn on the soil. If you have the knowledge of aquaponics, organic farming and permaculture, we are happy to learn from you.
    p/s: We are fairly new to farming. We wish to learn from others as well as to share what we know to others.

    CURRENT PROJECT:
    1. Building passion fruit trellis
    2. Preparing raised bed for corn
    3. Bamboo bush pruning

    UPCOMING PROJECT:
    1. To build chicken coop
    2. Fruit trees pruning
    3. Outdoor tree swing
    4. To build fence
    5. DIY Signboard
    6. Banana trees replanting

    VOLUNTEERS:
    We prefer solo traveler as well as couple. Not more than 2 people at a time

    LENGTH OF STAY:
    We required a minimum of 2 weeks stay. Extension of stay can be done if both parties are happy with it. And vice versa.

    WORKING HOUR:
    7.00am to 9.30am
    5.00pm to 7.30pm
    We will try to avoid to work under the hot sun. So that's our normal working hour. But we can adjust it accordingly when you are here and see what is the best for everyone.

    DAILY SCHEDULE:
    Below are our daily schedule:

    Beginning of the day
    7.00am - Work
    9.00am - Breakfast
    12.00pm - Lunch
    3.30pm - Tea Time
    5.00pm - Work
    8.00pm - Dinner
    End of the day

    ENVIRONMENT:
    As you know, we only have one season here, i.e. summer. So it is hot, but normally we will not work under the hot sun. One more is the mosquitoes. If you cannot bear with mosquito bites, then please don't come.

    FOOD:
    We cook our food daily but we will order takeaway as well when we are lazy. The ingredients of the food we cook are mainly from our farm (mainly vegetables). But we will buy meat and some veggies that we couldn't grow here from the market too. We tends to have more vegetables than meat. So we are not vegetarian, not vegan, not lactose or gluten intolerance. Therefore, we might have difficulties in food preparing for someone who has special diet. It is good if you can eat whatever we cook.
    We are not a big fan of "organic" products, so we eat non-organic food as well. Please don't tell us that you only eat organic oat instead of normal oat, sourdough bread instead of white bread, brown rice instead of white rice. We eat junk food sometimes too.

    VACCINATION:
    Both of us had our Covid-19 vaccination (2 doses) on June 2021, August 2021 and booster dose on Feb2022.
    We required our workawayers to have a mandatory of 2 doses of vaccination, and it is even better if you have your booster shot done.

    If you are interested to stay with us, please write to us. You may include the answers for the following questions that we wish to know.
    1. Have you completed your Covid-19 vaccination? (2 jabs + booster jab)
    2. When do you plan to come over to our place and when do you plan to leave? (Check-in & Check-out Dates)
    3. How do you plan to come to Penang? (Flight, bus, train ...)
    4. Do you have any special diet? (Vegan, Vegetarian...)
    5. What is your expectation for your stay at our place?

    We will share our WhatsApp number at later stage for easier communication.
    Wish to hear from you. Cheers!

    Our available dates:
    May: Full
    June: Full
    July: 27th July - 9th August

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi is available at our premise. The speed of the wifi is 30Mbps. Should be enough for normal streaming and work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    The space is big enough for several campervans.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 383457625126