1 / 5

Help me become as self-sustainable as possible preserving the natural environment in my garden in Perth, W Australia

  • Australia
  • 21 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20/12/2022

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My unique rural/ urban property is on sacred Noongar country between two lakes Lake Gnangara ( walking distance), situated equi time (approx. 25mins) from the, Perth city CBD, Perth airport, Mullaloo beach and the Swan Valley. Despite being located within Perth city, the one-hectare unique property offers a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of urban life as you immerse yourself in the natural environment. You are surrounded by trees and native birds with the endangered Barnaby Cockatoo flying and calling raucously overhead, whilst they forage for food, or you can be delighted by the darting honey eaters and the native quenda (bandicoot) can be seen running -hopping amongst the balga/grasstrees seeking food.

    My garden consists of three distinct garden zones, consisting of remanent native bushland, including threatened floristic species such as the banksia woodlands, native bush foods and healing plants; Japanese Garden including groves of bamboo, ponds and water features and ' the farm', consisting of free ranging poultry, organic vegie gardens, diverse plantings of fruit trees, medicinal plants both native and exotic species.

    My aim is to create a healing sanctuary of spaciousness, connection to Mother nature who provides so lavishly - delicious teas and food laden with goodness from the composted soil. Naturally the soil is sandy and underneath is the Gnangara water mound, artesian water, therefore building the soil health along with conserving water is a priority. One of my future projects is to install water harvesting strategies such as rainwater tanks, maintaining the gardens is a constant, particularly as I do not use any sprays or chemicals.

    I live in a large family home with my young adult children, who work locally. Accommodation is within the family home. My aim is to become as self-sustainable as possible, whilst honouring the natural biodiversity of the remaining natural environment which is only 18% of the swan river plains.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The cultural exchange is learning about the local threatened floristic and fauna species. The biodiversity of the south west of Western Australia, connection with the natural environment and its people.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The predominant activity is caring for country, depending on the gardening zone, different caring & gardening activities are required such:
    Native environment - weeding and burning (only in fire season),
    Japanese garden - pruning, checking and cleaning the ponds, raking the stones
    The 'The Farm' - creating wicking beds, mulching, compost making, checking reticulation.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Brazilian Portugese

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Shared family home, own private room fully furnished with queen size bed, pool and tranquil gardens. Food home grown supplemented by fresh food from the markets or shops. Our family indulges in healthy, fresh and nutritious food with a preference for vegetarian cuisine. My kitchen is fully equipped with juicers, blenders to whip up fresh juices, smoothies or baked goodies.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The immediate area is a mix of natural wetlands and rural activities such as strawberry farms, equine, within walking distance to leisure activities such as is the county gold club. There are local markets on the weekend serving culturally diverse cuisines.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Internet access reliable

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 376741942769

Comentarios (1)

Fotos

Comentarios


Help our family with some renovation projects in our forever home in Perth, Australia
Help with our home life in Melbourne, Australia