A big country house in Giaveno/Torino welcomes pet lovers, good gardeners, fans of home care, Italy

  • Italia
  • 321 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 29 may 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    We appreciate visits of approx one month as we experienced that it is a good time to get familiar with us, explore the area and finalize little projects at our home
    We appreciate our Workawayers when they offer skills in gardening, trimming, painting.
    They should love to spend time in the garden, walk around the dogs first thing in the mornings, cuddle the cats.

    We are Pierpaolo/Pippo and Cristiana both 59y, very young at heart!
    We have been hosting WorkAwayers in the last 5 years and we are still very excited about the experience. Wonderful young people (more than 30 up to now) have lived with us 2/3/4 months and we are still in touch with many of them, it's becoming our little community made of proactive young people who can communicate among them and help each other from all over the world.

    Our family combines Pierpaolo’s 5 sons aged 22-30y and Cristiana's only 21y son.
    None of them lives in Giaveno at the moment for reasons of study and work.
    Our home is Pippo's family house, an historical huge property with gardens renovated around 1987 on his project, being Pippo an Architect. The place takes its name from the previous owner, the painter francesco gonin (second half of 1800).

    Pippo travels a lot with his job between Piedmont and Liguria, 4 of his sons run a family farm near 'le 5 Terre'.
    Cristiana is running the daily routine of the house and plan the activities with the Workawayers.
    Pippo is very good at manual works and a very patient teacher, the Workawayers are happy to learn from him when he has time to follow them, eager to receive instructions and continue by themselves.
    We expect the Workawayers be: joyful, tidy, organized and full of initiatives, positive and proactive in planning their everyday cooperation.
    Pippo's mother is 92y. She lives in another separate flat with her caregiver 24/7. Workawayers may be asked to spend few hours during the week keeping her company, to allow the caregiver to go out few moment for personal needs.

    About our village and the surroundings, what the Workawayers will find in Giaveno:
    The house is placed in front of the little church at la Borgata Buffa of Giaveno, it was built in 1700 and gently frescoed by the painter Francesco.
    The village of La Buffa (which means 'cheerful') is only 10 min walk from the city centre.
    Giaveno is a lively little town which offers street markets and farmers market every day. Bars, Pubs, Pizzerie, Restaurants, you can easily find everything you may need.
    To reach Torino, buses runs regularly, the bus stop is 5 min down the road, the trip is 45 min
    If you wish to take a walk 4,5 km, or take the bus, after 2 beautiful little lakes, you get to the Medieval town of Avigliana, where you find the train station to go directly to Torino city centre (half hour trip).
    Also close is the Sacra di San Michele, a very important touristic site.
    The Piedmont Region is an interesting area to explore with lakes and mountains nearby: Valle di Susa/Sestriere/ Montgenèvre/France/Frejus Tunnel.
    The town of Torino, the old capital of the Reign of Italy, is full of Castles, Museums and old palaces worth various visits.
    A mix of culture, nature, good food and special wines will offer you a full experience of the Italian way of life.

    The big house is divided into many well separated areas.
    The WorkAwayers are hosted in their own independent flat within the property, which makes their stay with us even more special. We generally host smily and relaxed couples, better if speaking/understanding Italian, who can enjoy their privacy and to spend time by themselves. They use their kitchen to organize and provide for their own meals. It's seems difficult for us to share lunch or dinner regularly. It happens sometimes with joy when we are all working together and mostly in the Summer.

    Are you good at arts and craft works? Painting and repairing never finish in a big house...
    The lovely garden, the inside/outside of the mansion needs quite a lot of maintenance, the Workawayers will never get bored, although they are used to cover some daily activities in a very easygoing way. Skilled gardeners will be most appreciated, so please tell us if you have gardening/agricultural and handiwork/painting attitude.

    About us....
    Pierpaolo is an Architect dealing with the restoration of ancient buildings, he is quite busy following his jobs and he's traveling around Piemonte and Liguria region. He is the father of Giovanni, Emanuele, Costantino, Tito and Pietro. Occasionally they come to stay in Giaveno for few days.
    Cristiana is a Photographer spending part of her time in Milano to work and visit her son Filippo.
    Our dogs Punch, a fantastic Golden Retriever 11y and Barbabuc, 1y an overactive Australian sheperd, both need to share the day with the humans... the 2 crazy cats Leo&Nino needs a lot of pampering and a lot of food!

    We offer...
    a peaceful flat in the centre of a quiet village in a countryside surrounding close to the Alps with fresh air.
    Running, trekking, biking, swimming, sailing are easy to practice.

    About our Workawayers' private accomodation: bedroom, bathroom and living with kitchen.
    The couples are usually independent for shopping and cooking, which they provide by themselves. From time to time we are able to invite them for lunch or dinner in our kitchen or in the garden, more often we share a glass of wine as we rarely cook a full meal for ourselves.
    The tasks we require include gardening and trimming, painting blinds and general care around the house/courtyards (sweeping, dusting, hovering), mainly in the common areas.
    WA's presence in the house is very precious especially when Pippo&Cris are traveling: feed and look after the cats, only occasionally after the dogs, water flowers.
    Another plan is to promote a very soft hosting activity in part of the house, therefore we count on the Workawayers' skills to teach us how to improve with the use of social networks.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Compañía para ancianos
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are offering an experience in an old and fashinating village of the Countryside around Torino. A beautiful frescoed mansion to live in. Fresh air during the summer, a beautiful garden to enjoy and look after, a veg garden to grow in a very relaxed attitude. The Workawayers will explore the surroundings and will be able to practice sports like: running, training, biking

  • Ayuda


    We have become quite precise in our expectations after hosting so many different people in the past years.
    Look for us if you are: of good and happy spirit, active and helpful, good at handicraft and painting, Animal's and Elderly lover.
    In the Garden: daily maintenance, pruning and trimming, daily watering.
    Your little separate apartment has to be cleaned every day (sorry for being so boring with tidiness)
    General maintenance: help in keeping common areas clen, terraces and ground floor, from time to time windows.
    A weekly plan will be organized together, keeping the 4 hours per day maximum help requested.
    It will be most than welcome somebody speaking Italian.
    We would prefer a couple as Giaveno and our area La Buffa are quite places and a couple can enjoy and share everyday activity even if Pippo and Cris are not at home all times.
    Again, Non smokers, dynamic, energetic, well organized and very tidy people are welcome.
    You’ll have time to explore the region with Mountains, Lakes in Avigliana, Castles, and the town of Torino with many museums and palaces to visit .
    We host for a period of minimum 3/4 weeks up to 3 months in order to make the experience memorable for us all.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Private room and private bathroom plus Living/Kitchen in a little flat overlooking the main courtyard and the Church square outside.
    The house is furnished and equipped with everything you can need. The Workawayers are usually happy to be independent to cook and organize their own meals. We provide general needs at the arrival, then they provide to shop for themselves. From time to time we can share lunch or dinner especially when we are working in the house or the garden together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We will help you to organize visits around Turin area, there are easy transportation facilities, train and bus to Turin/Milan/Genoa or France

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    wi-fi connection is not the best but all our workawayers have been able to make job search from here, work online and being connected with their families every day... we will be happy to receive some advice for Instagram and how to follow daily activity on social network

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4/5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 359621461655

Comentarios (7)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)

Help us with our kids and around the home on a stunning Sicilian island, Italy
English-speaking au pair to read and play with our kids in Agerola, Italy