Join our unschooling family in Santa Cruz, United States

Country

Estados Unidos

70 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    69.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We're a family of five living in a two-bedroom, 1,400 sq ft home on a 1.5-acre lot amongst the redwoods in rural Bonny Doon, California.

    Our three kids were born in 2014, 2018 and 2021.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are the cofounders of a business that helps people overcome chronic health conditions and improve performance and flourishing by examining our modern problems in the context of our ancestral heritage. Our diet and lifestyle are very carefully designed in a way that makes people feel great. As a Workawayer, we're hoping you will join us in every aspect of that lifestyle. We appreciate there are many ways to skin a cat, and we're hoping we'll learn something about what makes you feel good too.

    We eat together as a family for breakfast, dinner and sometimes lunch too. Please join us! We'd prefer it that way but if you prefer to cook your own food that could work too. Dad is coeliac and our kitchen is strictly gluten-free. The other bright line we maintain is no industrial seed oils, e.g. canola (also called “rapeseed”), corn, cottonseed, soy, sunflower, safflower, grapeseed, rice bran. We are omnivores committed to minimising harm by sourcing meat from regenerative agriculture. We understand that a monoculture of wheat or soy isn't a sustainable ecosystem, and that protein, omega-3 fats, zinc, B12, choline are essential nutrients absent or deficient in plant-based diets.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The best way to think about living with us is to consider yourself joining a family and a small community. You’d be like an aunt or uncle, meaning you'll help out your sibling, but you aren't their au pair. We think parent is a relationship, not an activity.

    You'll want to be sure you are in a stage of life where you enjoy having kids around and a desire to spend time with and inspire them. However, guests are not responsible for our kids, and we are not looking for nannies.

    We take a play-first approach to learning that is non-coercive and self-directed, you may know as unschooling.

    As a Workawayer, we'd like you to help us with mountain living logistics, special projects, and modelling valuable skills for our kids. Tasks include shopping, food prep, cooking, and clean up for our communal meals. Don't worry; one of your hosts is a master cook, food scientist, and excellent delegator.

    We're early birds, up around 6:30 am, in bed at 9 pm. We don't mind if you stay up late but you won't much help if you identify as a night owl as our schedules won't overlap much.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We’ve got a spare room with a king-size bed, a trailer with a full size, and a canvas bell tent with a queen-size bed for guests.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    It's a 15 min drive to the beach, 30 to Santa Cruz.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We've got two very well trained unneutered Australian cattle dogs that get along well with other dogs. We've also got an outdoor feral cat that unfortunately doesn't like company so please no cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 351397977849