Help us create a permaculture homestead in Picton, Canada

Country

Canadá

99 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are city folk learning to live the rural life, doing our best to live a sustainably. In our previous life, we ran a boutique hotel in Downtown Montreal. The pandemic allowed us to reevaluate our life, and take the plunge to build the homestead we always talked about. We've dreamed of giving our kids a rural upbringing, and though the pandemic was a disaster for our business, it also afforded us the time to reflect on what we really wanted for our family.

    Now we plan to explore our cultural roots, to live off the land, to grow what we eat, and to do our part in healing the land. Our homestead is on a 2-acre property in the beautiful Prince Edward County. We will have egg laying chickens, and will focus on permaculture, biodiversity, and regenerative farming practices. Through WorkAway, we hope to continue sharing our culture and the knowledge that we are accumulating.

    We have brought on 2 pups into our family as well. They are Great Pyrénées, learning to protect our homestead.

    Help us build a beautiful farmstead in the beautiful county!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are adventurous, and love to learn and show our kids the different facets of life around the world. You could learn about the Hmong people, how to make beer, some woodworking, home maintenance, dog care, how to run a hotel, or how to make a killer pour over. We love all sorts of random stuff.

    Our homestead will feature food forests, hugelkultur beds, a flower garden, and all sorts of other ideas

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We just need general help around the house and homestead, in whatever areas you are comfortable in. Help us discover permaculture and learn to create a food forest. We will need help building, taking care of animals, gardening, and lots of general maintenance work.

    Projects to renovate the house are also in the plans. Expect physical tasks!


    In general, we expect a trade of 10-20 hours a week. We are flexible on how we can split this up.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Chino (mandarín): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are Anglophones from Quebec, so though we know our French, we'd like to not lose it! Hans is Chinese, but our kids don't speak any of it. Maybe it's time to teach them?

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a camping trailer with full privacy. It’s under renovations right now, but you can see a picture of it above.

    In our past life, we ran a boutique hotel, so you can expect to be comfortable!

    You are welcome to join us in family dinners as well. You will undoubtedly enjoy some Thai and Laos inspired dishes, along with frequent barbecues.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Preferably non smokers please, thanks!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We will have internet connection, but please note that it is rural internet, meaning that it won't be blazing fast!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Max size we would accept would be a Sprinter or the like.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We will have dogs and chickens around the farm. We'd love to see more animals around, but you must keep them leashed and supervised at all times.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours/week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 344767652257