Learn about organic farming and sustainable living helping in my gardens in Western Creek, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

23 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    If you are already in Tasmania and looking for a different experience ,I'm open to offers for some help . Clearing walking tracks and a good variety of general farm and garden maintenance to keep us occupied.

    Someone with electrical wiring skills would be a bonus.
    Please read the next part carefully.
    *****When you first contact me [or any other host] it is very helpful to tell us what date you would like to arrive and leave.****** It helps us to co- ordinate things so as many people as possible get to experience what there is to offer. I am only able to meet people in Deloraine on a Wednesday or a Sunday. Please keep this in mind when you send your first message.

    There's a variety of things to keep us busy and plenty of spare time to take in the best that life has to offer.
    I have space for anyone who wants to enjoy a slice of Tasmanian life. Long term stays are welcome but I'll take anyone willing to lend a hand. I prefer people who have a real interest in learning about organic farming and sustainable living.
    Iv'e just bought a beautiful old piano and have a few other instruments,so if you are musical or would like to try playing something , come and have a go. It can be a lot of fun trying to make music. There is a variety of other general farm work to do as well.And it's not all work ,work ,work, there's plenty of playtime and fun to have as well. We all need to relax and enjoy ourselves .

    .I grow all my fruit ,vegetables and meat ,so you can enjoy really tasty ,healthy food[none of that tasteless stuff from the supermarket]
    I eat mainly a meat based diet.
    I live on my organic/bio-dynamic farm with my dog [Jake] in Western Creek which is in the Meander valley.The Great Western Tiers mountain range is at my back door so there is plenty of beautiful walking trails and lovely scenery to explore. We are growing a large range of delicious berries,fruit trees and vegetables.

    I'm always looking for happy people to help in the gardens and berry patches with a variety of tasks.There are cows to feed and chickens to look after and my wonderful dog really enjoys meeting new people.
    If you can help me learn Japanese I'll be your friend for life. The closest town is Deloraine [25km] which has all the necessary shops etc and I usually go there once a week (Mondays).Because the town is 25km away helpers "must" arrive and leave on a Wednesday or Sunday. I am not able to pick up anyone from Deloraine on any other days. We all need to minimise our use of cars and fossil fuels[every bit helps]. So please plan your arrival for Wednesday or Sunday.
    The closest and most convenient airport is at Launceston, serviced by Jetstar, Virgin and Qantas. There is a shuttle bus to the city bus terminal and then Redline busses [tasredline.com.au] to Deloraine. "Sometimes" I may be able to meet you at the airport. It depends if I happen to be going to Launceston on the day you arrive. There is also the option of getting the ferry from Melbourne to Devonport. Check bus timetables at tasredline.com.au

    I have been a wwoof host for 23 years so have plenty of experience in inviting people into my home and making them feel comfortable and at home.I still keep up correspondence with some Wwoofers from my first year.The community I belong to is very dynamic and varied so you can experience all sorts of people and activities while staying here .(TaiChi,Yoga,Festivals,etc).Brewing beer is one of the extra things I do in my spare time so you will be able to enjoy a "cool drink" after helping. If you have a pulse and a belly button you are "in". It's handy if you can give me some idea of how long you might like to stay [one week minimum]. Please don't bring strongly scented soaps, shampoo etc. I can supply you with an alternative if needed. If you have any special dietary requirements [vegan, vegetarian, no dairy etc] or allergies please tell me when you first contact me. "NO SMOKERS , NO EXCEPTIONS"
    Please give me a call or email (no texts please ,I don't have a mobile phone) and we can arrange to meet and enjoy starting a new friendship.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the chance to learn about sustainable food growing and then get to "eat it"! I have a great interest in Japan and all the different aspects of its culture which i love to share.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    At the moment I'm interested in finding some help to pick blueberries from the end of January for about 8 to 10 weeks. General farm stuff . Fencing, feeding cows,collecting firewood, general vegetable gardening and harvesting.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Japanese: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Sleeping is either in the house or maybe in a small cabin on the edge of the bush. All meals are shared together in the house

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 342848274123