Organic homesteading in Sunshine Bay near Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

419 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    54  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi everyone! Thank you for your interest in staying with us.

    Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are seeking one or two Workaway volunteers who can stay for two months minimum and are willing to go into quarantine here for the first two weeks.

    Also, we only really need one person because of the amount of work required but we are willing to take two because of the pandemic and the more isolated situation we all find ourselves in. By coming with someone, you have each other to keep company and do things with. However, if there are two of you, we ask for 25 hours a week total (not the normal 50 hours for two) and you pay for your food and do most of your cooking. Once you're out of quarantine, we will share some meals together.
    Our place is peaceful and beautiful and we will take good care of you if your priority is our safety and health.

    So, come join us on our beautiful and tranquil homestead in the West Kootenays! We love sharing our place with others and invite you to help us here while exploring this stunning part of the world in your spare time.

    We live on a large piece of land surrounded by fields and mountains 40 minutes outside of the town of Nelson. We're a 5 minute walk to Sunshine Bay Park where you can walk the trails, swim in Kootenay Lake (in August only) or watch the sunset. Our property includes our timber-frame home, guesthouse, barn/workshop, animal houses and greenhouses. We also have a big organic vegetable garden along with heritage livestock - Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats and heritage poultry.

    Russell is passionate about his organic garden where he grows an abundance of food for us to eat and I am passionate about our animals - livestock and pets - and provide exceptional care for all of them.

    Most of our vegetables are homegrown and organic!

    We are not travellers and one of the wonderful aspects of having people through the Workaway program who come and stay with us is that you bring other countries and cultures to us. We've been fortunate in that many of our Workawayers have stayed for 2 to 5 months when possible and we've developed some wonderful friendships.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here you can see what it takes to run a homestead and all the work involved in growing and raising your own food. We could also help you work on your English. The other benefits include staying in a stunningly beautiful part of the world that is peaceful, gentle and fun!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Between April and October, most of our needs involve: cleaning out animal houses/yards and barn, fencing, weeding and some harvesting of fruit and vegetables in the gardens, helping with livestock, painting, weed whacking/cutting grass, house cleaning, wood stacking, cooking, outside house maintenance, etc. - all the necessary tasks of running a homestead. We also occasionally ask Workawayers to farm-sit for us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Glamping - you would sleep in an insulated, solid building in the garden that includes a queen bed and small workspace area. Cooking would take place outside under a large canopy with the use of a 2 burner camper stove, bbq, and outdoor fire pit. This is where you would also spend your time relaxing. Bathroom facilities are in the main house for toileting and showering but there is also an outdoor toilet near glamping area.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    At this time, because of the pandemic we are asking workawayers to not leave our property, unless to go for a walk, hike or swim. There are lots of trails for walking and a lakeside beach close by.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Your workspace would be in the garden room bedroom with a table set up in there as your workspace. We do have excellent wifi near our house but where you would be staying (approximately 300ft away), which works good enough for workawayers who are not working long distance. You would do best with your own internet service such as a phone plan with unlimited internet, if possible.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    The area would accommodate a small trailer (19ft max) or camper van nicely. There is an outdoor toilet and running water out there as well.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 per person/week

View from our 'mostly' vegetable garden looking towards the main house
Our garden and the building in the background is a garden shed and bedroom where workawayers can sleep.
View of our pond and animal houses behind with beautiful view of the mountains.
Same garden, different perspective
Our Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats
Siesta time for the lovers
Drying our onions in the garden with cabbage in the foreground
A medley of veggies from the greenhouse
Lettuce anyone?
Sunday breakfast
Lunch.....or a light dinner
Russell's specialty
Eyal making us paella on the fire!
Stella and Barney
Dawn and Russell

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 333212393577