Small hobby farm in the beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

507 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are again accepting wokawayers; but you must have been immunized against covid and can show us proof of that. We can discuss our expectations of guests regarding covid safety prior to arriving here.
    We are a GAY COUPLE living in Princeport, Nova Scotia Canada. We own a small hobby farm that we are just starting. We are looking for people from OTHER COUNTRIES to come stay with us and experience life on a small self-sustaining type hobby farm(in the making as we just bought it Sept. 20, 2021). At the moment we have 12 horses ranging in size from minatures to full size, and 4 dogs. Next spring we will be getting a few chickens and ducks, and a couple goats and maybe a few sheep. We will be starting to prepare a garden area this fall by adding manure and sand to the garden area, and then next spring it will be worked up and planted.
    We are looking for help on our hobby farm in caring for our animals, doing projects around the farm, , helping with household chores, occasionally cooking a meal, and assisting us in developing our farm. YOU MUST LOVE ANIMALS AND WANT TO LEARN ABOUT THEM (we love teaching you about the animals and how to care for them, this is every important - if you do not take an interest in our animals then you won't fit in well)...this is very important if you want to stay with us; if your uncomfortable around animals then our farm is not for you. We want you to be able to speak and understand English (we are ok with it being your second language, but you must have a good understanding of the English language so that you can safely take directions). Please do not send us messages unless they are in English, sending messages in your native language disrespectful given we have politely asked to correspond in English.


    We cannot accept families with children or pets of any kind.
    We do not allow illegal drugs, smoking or vaping on our property.
    Due to illegal activity on our internet account by a previous work away guest, we only offer limited internet access.
    Unfortunately we have to also add that any abuse to our animals will not be tolerated and you will be asked to leave immediately (yes we have had someone hit our dog!)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn a lot about farm animals, a lot about gardening and flowers, and sustainabliley and likely learn a bit about cooking if you want.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    So our next year will focus on building and maintaining pens and pastures for horses and developing pastures for other small animals. We will also be putting in a vegetable and herb garden along with flower gardens and a pond feature, and developing a yard space for us to lounge around in. There may be some home maintenance involved as the basement of our home needs some attention in the form of painting and cleaning, etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will sleep in your own room, and have access to all areas of our home except the office area.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The majority of people who came to stay with us loved it on our farm, and we have a lot of fun (many came back several times using our farm as their base from which they explore BC and return to until their next adventure). We are hoping this happens with our new farm here in Nova Scotia as well. There is so much to see and do here in the maritimes.
    We start the day off with morning chores(morning and evening chores usually take 20 mins or less); Then we come in for breakfast and the rest of the morning is spent on projects ( with breaks of course) then again assisting with evening chores. It sounds like a lot, but it isn't . We do encourage everyone to take breaks and go explore the area, It is beautiful here with lots of hiking, fishing, swimming, lakes etc. and we are close to Truro which is a quaint city (also known as the hub of Nova Scotia); we are an hour from downtown Halifax. The Cabot trail is a few hours away, and absolutely a must see. There is delicious sea food and many great restaurants in NS. PEI and NFLD are easily accessed as is NB (famous for their maple syrup!).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate one camper van.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 325969359754