Enjoy a cultural exchange and help develop a nutrition and exercise program in Jaibalito, Guatemala



114 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    I have a property in Jaibalito; a tiny village at the north shore of the Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. There are 6 guest rooms that are bookable online. The house and rooms are at a high standard for Guatemala, where guests enjoy amazing bedding and a great place to relax. I don't offer any additional services at this point, but I'd like to develop that. I am also a Mosaic artist and teacher in Guatemala and in California. I am a very tidy and neat person with an eye for color and design. I have two highly energetic dogs who love to play and hike. Not everyone will fit in at my house and that's OK. We can talk and find out what realistic expectations are from both sides. I have a house manual for guests that I can email once we reach an agreement and I'd need you to adhere to the same rules as the other guests.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    While staying with me, you would have access to anything that can be harvested from the garden. I grow a lot of vegetables, herbs and fruit. My property is about 80 percent edible or medicinal. If anyone can offer suggestions to make the garden more productive, that would be awesome.

  • Ayuda


    I may need a little bit of help checking in guests, but that is easy, since there is a Spanish speaking caretaker on property and I have other people who can help me with check-ins in my absence. Right now with covid there are not many guests to worry about. My two dogs serve as trail guides for guests and workawayers alike and they'd love to take you on a walk when you have time off.
    At this point I mainly need help for myself and with setting up nutritional and exercise programs. This is ultimately as a program to attract guests from Guatemala City and abroad. I'd like to offer a weight-loss and nutrition program to my guests in future, mainly geared towards middle-aged women. But I need to do this myself first and I have a lot of work to do to get here and I have a lot to learn.

    I also still need some help with online booking engines and maintaining an online presence on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for my vacation property, the future programs and for my mosaic work. At some point, I'd like to develop a booking system that will allow travelers to book any service in the Lake Atitlan area with minimal fees.

    But for now I'd like to focus on nutrition, recipes, cooking, exercise plans and wellness. You do not need to speak or write Spanish. Since we'd be cooking together, we'd need to have a schedule for exercise and food preparation, so the plan is set on your days off.
    Workaway asked me to clarify the position to avoid candidates confusing this with a kitchen staff position: The programs I would like to develop for nutrition and weight loss will have the guests learning about nutrition and exercise and for the guests do the cooking for themselves. The purpose of the workaway position would be to teach me and show me, not to cook for guests.

    I would prefer to host someone close to my age for the nutrition and exercise plan. If I need people for digital marketing and booking systems, then younger people are welcome. The nature of the work and the audience would determine the ideal age.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I speak 5 languages. I don't mind teaching or practicing, depending on the language. Mine are; English, Dutch, German, French and Spanish.

  • Alojamiento


    You'd stay in one of the guest rooms on the property, but you'd need to share a bathroom with me downstairs if there are guests in the house. The rooms you'll be in would have either a single or queen bed, depending on availability. Since working on a nutrition plan required sharing the kitchen I need to make sure that you are prepared to keep the kitchen clean: as in cleaning during cooking and right after meals. We recycle and compost to keep trash to a minimum. We have a private trash recycling project in the village, so it's a delicate subject, especially living on an amazing lake that we are trying to preserve. Since we'd be cooking together, I'd include meals of course.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Jaibalito is located at the Lake Atitlan and the only access to the village is by boat from the surrounding villages. We are 3-4 hours away from Guatemala City and 2-3 hours from Antigua. There are hiking trails going out of the village in three directions and my dogs know them all. There is a Posada (Inn) where locals and visitors meet for drinks or a meal. They also sell excellent coffee, groceries (anything but meat) and fresh bread. You can visit the whole lake from Jaibalito. I don't mind when people smoke outside, as long as it does not bother the guests, but I am not 420 (or any drug) friendly and alcohol should be handled responsibly. You would need to leave your room in an acceptable condition when you leave, since it is one of the guest rooms. If I am not home, you will need to assume the responsibility for the safety of the property. The dogs do their part and my caretaker knows his job. As a general rule you can't be partying at the local cantina and become a target for burglars while carrying the keys to the house. Friend visits are ok about once a week for a morning or afternoon visit, but unless we're all hosting together, no dinner and definitely no overnight guests.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 325398551813