Explore, ride horses, hike, swim, and enjoy the Okanagan Shuswap Region of BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

349 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on a 5 acre 6 horse, & 2 dog hobby farm, located between Enderby and Salmon Arm in the North Okanagan Shuswap region of British Columbia. In 2014-2015 I hosted quite a lot but then a move and change in life stopped my ability to host. Now I am looking forward to hosting again. My husband Mike works for the federal government and I work for a local financial institution. Our two children are ages 12 and 15, so our helpers must like sassy, funny teenagers. We are a very active family with a small property, large home and plenty of work always needing to be done. I ride our horses competitively in barrel racing and our daughter also rides too. We love our home, our location and our lifestyle and would love to share our experiences with someone else.

    We are looking for someone who is independent, self sufficient and doesn’t mind being unsupervised. As a helper, most days you’d be on your own from 7:30-4:00. There is no public transit from our home to larger centres, but as your hosts we can help you explore the area! We make it our priority to really show our guests the area. Want to kayak on a beautiful lake? We can drop you off and pick you up! Want to hike a trail - we can pick you up and drop you off, or we will join you if possible :-) Being a host is rewarding and I enjoy sharing what our beautiful area has to offer. We will also invite you to join us on adventures, such as boating or hiking, maybe even camping too.

    We have are unable to accommodate helpers who have their own travel trailers but we can accommodate a camper van. We are unable to accommodate pets & couples.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We really enjoy the cultural exchange the occurs while hosting. Not only is it rewarding to host and teach our guests about our way of life, it is just as rewarding for us to learn about different ways of living. We can share what we know about Canadian education, law, politics, food, religions & pretty much any else that interests you. If interested we also help you try some of Canada's culinary/beverage delicacies such as Poutine, Nanaimo Bars, S'moores & a cold Caesar.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Spring, summer & fall consists of mostly outdoor work such as caring for our horse. This can include but is no limited to; feeding, cleaning pens, picking rocks, cleaning stalls, organizing tack room and packing and unpacking the horse trailer, polishing tack, and grooming horses. There is also gardening, lawn care & plant care needed. I have a few painting projects as well. Splitting fire wood with an automatic wood splitter. Riding arena care like grooming it and rock picking. Organizing the shop and tools. Other duties include housekeeping duties with multiple tasks and a variety of work. House cleaning, baking cookies, organizing, cooking meals or meal prep & general light duty maintenance. I serve good food and we try our best to make our home warm and inviting. Our kids are both in French immersion school, so any bit of French is always great too!

    I also want to know what interests you! If you're not the least bit interested in one or more of the tasks listed above, that is OK. We don't need to be a perfect match and we can work with your strengths and interests.

    No matter what your riding level, if you’re interested in riding, you will have the opportunity to ride one of our horses.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am always interested in learning about other languages and we would be willing to help you learn English. Only our children are fluent in French. Mike and I only know very few words.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live in a large log home. It is approximately 3600 sq. You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed, a large closet and views of the mountain. There is a large outside deck with seating area and a hot tub for your enjoyment.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Visit SilverStar Mountain Resort
    Cross country ski at Larch Hills Cross Country
    Hike the Enderby Cliffs
    Enjoy the shores of Shuswap Lake
    Visit Margaret Falls
    Go ice fishing on Gardom Lake
    Check out Shuswap Trail Alliance (hiking and mountain biking trail maps)
    Visit wineries
    Enjoy the many lakes
    Float the Shuswap River
    Shop at a local farmers market

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have fibre optic high speed internet so you’re welcome to work on your own projects on your own time.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 315527933474