Volunteer in tranquil Northland, New Zealand

  • Nueva Zelanda
  • 285 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Kia ora 😀 We are a family of four living in a picturesque bush clad valley by a rocky bottomed river. Located 5 hours north of Auckland. The coast is 20 minutes away. The Far North is definitely worth adding to your travel itinerary 😀

    ****Needed ASAP**** We are looking for one or two helpers for a couple of weeks to help ease the load. My Mum has been hospitalised for a couple of months so far and the extra responsibilities of caring for her pets plus managing our land is getting too much. Located in the Far North. We have 60 acres of bush with river and organic orchards. You will have your own accomodation and keep Sumo, Patch and Jono the cat company plus help with chores around the place. Vegetarian but you're welcome to cook your own meat. MUST LOVE ANIMALS and have patience for them as we have alot 😁🤣

    We currently need someone to help us with maintenance in the garden - weeding, collecting horse manure; general house work, collecting firewood, feeding animals and walking the dog, house painting. We like to cook and would love it if you enjoy cooking or baking. Julien is a chilli fanatic and grows a variety of chilli plants. He makes fermented hot sauce which ranges in heat from a mild/medium to 15/10 (I'm not kidding haha). We also make kombucha using green tea and honey and Kimchi. We make our own bread and would like to try some different recipes if you have any. We are vegetarian and make a range of vegetarian/vegan meals including Thai curries, pasta, homemade pizza, Mexican, roasted vegetables, vege burgers, stir fries, soups and salads.

    Although this is flexible we prefer you to arrive on a Thursday or Friday so we can spend time with you on the weekend helping you to settle in as we work during the week :-) . Please note that we are at work/school during the week so you must be able to work independently on tasks and be self motivated. I work Tuesday to Friday. Accomodation is a large bedroom with a king size bed.

    We are passionate about preserving our environment and have placed most of our land under a covenant to protect it for the future. This meant lots of hard work fencing which was achieved with lots of help from workawayers and wwoofers ;-) We belong to our local landcare group and our workawayers sometimes help with weed control/working bees if they want to.

    We grow a wide variety of organic fruit including apples, oranges, grapefruit, lemons, plums, peaches, blue berry, mulberry, Bananas, feijoa, pineapples, grapes, raspberries, avocado, cherimoya. We also have a hugelkultur vegetable garden which a wwoofer helped to build that grows tomatoes, brasicas, lettuce, chard, kale, asparagus, garlic, zucchini and cucumber depending on the season.

    Being good hosts is important to us and we value the extra help and having the "world come into our home" by hosting travellers.

    We appreciate it if you show motivation and become a part of our family by pitching in. Helpers who are able to use initiative are like Gods to hosts, kidding, sort of! We worship anyone that noticed something needed doing and does it particularly if they haven't had much work to do. Work is usually 4 hours a day and help tidying the kitchen in the evening.

    Gloves, sunhat, old clothes, sunblock and insect repellent are important as are gumboots in Autumn and Winter.

    We are situated 20 minutes drive from beautiful east coast beaches and 35 minutes from Kaitaia township where we shop. Workawayers without a car usually catch a bus to Taipa where we can pick them up. If you have a car we encourage you to take a day or two out and head up the coast and camp in one the many cheap beachside campgrounds on the way to Cape Reinga.

    We potter about alot at home, there is always something to do! There are lovely bush walks in this valley and a river to swim in beside the house (perfect for the summer!).

    Julien is a secondary school art teacher and enjoys sailing. I work at the local preschool as a teacher and enjoy pottering at home with the animals. Our teens are aged 16 and 18. Fynn is currently at Uni studying Marine science and Erin attends the local high school.

    I recommend visitors shop for any extras (treats and toiletries) before coming as we are not walking distance to any shops and drive to town once a week.

    We do not mind if you are learning english but it is important that you are sociable rather than very quiet! We value a sense of humour and enjoy conversations with our guests. Our household is busy but our attitude is relaxed, you will have plenty of opportunity to just chill out and will be treated like a member of the family. We have lots of pets so if you like animals you will enjoy your stay!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Sharing ideas and experiences. Seeing things from another perspective and reciprocal knowledge sharing. Learning about organic gardening practices. How to make hot sauce, kimchi and kombucha. Learning about animal care including horses and poultry. Feeding our huge pet eel in the river. Local treks.
    Fun, laughs, relaxation and not so hard work.

  • Ayuda


    We currently need someone to help in the garden, collect horse manure, general housework, house painting, spring cleaning, weeding, mulching, windows, animal care, walking Marley.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Large bedroom with king-size bed

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Northland is a beautiful place to visit with some of the best scenery in the country. Many parts of it are remote with beautiful forest and white sandy beaches. If you don't have a car we may be able to take you to local beaches or you could join Julien at the local sailing club on Saturday.

    Unfortunately our internet access is 4G mobile so the wifi can be a bit hit and miss but generally fine for emailing etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for a 4 birth or 6 meter camper with power accessible.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours depending on the job, 5 days a week with 2 days off

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 313613774557

Comentarios (13)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Homestay with an international family in Ashburton, New Zealand
Be part of our family and help with some gardening near seaside in Dunedin, New Zealand