Help out at our dogsled kennel in the mountains of Golden, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

443 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/01/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Dog lovers, look here!

    Our names are Matt and Moa and we live just outside of Golden, BC with our 16 Siberian and Alaskan huskies. Matt is a born and raised Canadian and Moa is originally from Sweden.

    We have been developing a race team for the past 5 years on a property situated on 270 acres of pristine wilderness. We are mainly looking for help with dog care, maintenance and cleaning.

    Our personal goal is to keep dog sledding a historical keystone in wilderness living and we love to share this passion and lifestyle with anyone who is interested. We are off grid and focused on enjoying the great outdoors and everything nature has to offer. Having a car would be an asset as we are located 20 minutes west of downtown Golden :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here we practice the ancient art of dog mushing which is a truly one of a kind opportunity. Our workaway experience offers people a chance to learn about dog handling, and experience a quintessential Canadian lifestyle. We will teach you about dog care and dog handling, wilderness skills and off-grid living.

    We are outgoing and friendly and love to learn about other cultures and experiences from our visitors. We also enjoy activities such as rock climbing, hiking, playing music, camping, bushcraft and of course - mushing!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    No previous experience is required, however a passion for dogs and love for the outdoors would make this the ultimate experience for you. Chores include cleaning up after the dogs, watering, raking, feeding and play time with the doggies just to name a few. These guys always keep us on our feet so expect a lot of dog cuddles! Your daily tasks would also include cleaning and general maintenance and help where needed. You might also help out with some carpentry around the property!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Sami: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer a secluded off grid cabin for our workawayers that's got everything you need, located right next to the kennel. It is equipped with a double bed, wood stove, propane stove for cooking, cooler, outdoor shower and outhouse. There's also extra mattresses if needed. The real deal off grid Canadian experience; wood stove for heat, oil lamp for light. Totally awesome! Water is provided in jugs inside your cabin from a spring-fed creek nearby! Food is included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is an abundance of things to do and see close by such as waterfalls, hiking trails and fishing, however a car is required to access most of these tourist destinations. We are 45 minutes from Yoho National Park and Glacier National Park, 1 hour from Lake Louise, 1.5 hours from Banff and 3 hours from Calgary. This is truly an adventurer's paradise with tons of experiences right on your door step.

    We live 20 minutes outside the town of Golden where you will find stores, shops, restaurants and bars with live music and entertainment. Golden is also famous for its downhill mountain-biking if that's some you're into!

    We are ideally looking for a couple but solo travellers are also welcome to apply :) Having a car is definitely an asset as there is no nearby public transportation.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 293688294424