Help restore an 120 year old house in the center of Pola de Allande on the Camino Primitivo, Spain

Country

España

691 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    71  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there, dear potential Workawayers,

    I just bought a house in december in the center of Pola de Allande, and need help to make it look nice again. It is on the camino primitivo, so a good place to take a break if you are doing the camino, or plan to do so.

    The older references you see are of my former place, a bed & breakfast in the Tigre Delta nearby Buenos Aires in Argentina. So I am used to having volunteers.

    Anybody is welcome, but if you have construction skills, such as masonry, carpentry, putting new floor, installing electricity, you are very welcome, as those things need to be done the coming months.

    The house has 4 floors. the First floor is finished, that is where my room is and you will be staying.
    The second floor needs some light work, painting mostly. The ground floor has to be redone from scratch. In the coming weeks a company will come to install a new floor and put some new walls in, as well as a new bathroom. Then new electricity has to be installed.

    We have taken out most of the weeds in the garden, so now we can start planting flowers, plants and trees,
    I would also like to build some wooden furniture (tables and objects to sit on) from all the big pieces of wood I have. Big shelves and pallets.

    It is a great place to make hikes in the nature. which you can see from the window.

    Although the village is small, with under 500 inhabitants, it is well equipped, with supermarket, 5 cafe/bars/restaurants, ironware stores, bakery, butcher, small medical center, public cyber (I have wifi at home), 4 hairdressers!, and even a swimming pool in summer.

    I will provide the food. If you enjoy cooking, thats great, it is not what I enjoy normally.
    Food is without meat most of the time, I am a flexitarian. I eat meat outdoors.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Practice languages, I am fluent in Spanish and English, and comfortable in German and French, native Dutch.
    It is a nice village, where you can talk to the people, who are friendly and often have time to chat.
    You can develop your do-it-yourself skills.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Depends a bit of the moment.
    I am doing all kinds of small repairs and upgrading.
    I need mostly help with painting, priming, sanding, filling up holes in the walls and ceiling with gips or plaster.

    From April onwards, tasks will be mostly helping in the garden, cleaning in the home and small maintenance.

    If you have your own ideas about what to do, that is good as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Dutch: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are several rooms with beds, so take your pick!
    A room is set up for volunteers, but if you prefer to sleep in another room, go ahead.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    To reach Pola de Allande, you can take a bus from Oviedo or Gijion, but there is only one per day, leaving Oviedo around 16.00 and arriving arriving around 17.45
    I can pick you up in Cangas de Narcea, to where you can take a bus every few hours.

    I am flexible with the hours you put in, as long as you are responsble, and do contribute, I prefer giving suggestions about what you could do, but really like people to work independent. If you want to relax some day, go for a hike, or study (spanish), no problem.

    Apart from the Camino primitivo long distance hike, there are many short and day hikes you can do, starting from Pola itself or some place nearby,
    I have books at my place you can read, there is a library, free to use internet cafe, and it is nice to hang out in the cafes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    some hours per day, flexible, max 25 hours a week with 2 days off

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

















































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 288976965137