Enjoy nature and mountain-biking and help renovate an old farmhouse in Cussy en Morvan, France



37 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Hi, we’re Paul & Jorinde. We recently joined Workaway and are looking forward meeting and working together with workawayers. We’ve bought an old (farm)house in the Morvan Regional Natural Park (a protected area of woodlands, lakes and traditional farmland in the Bourgogne-Franche-Comté) in the middle of France, with outbuildings and 1,6 hectares of land full of trees, ponds, vegetable plots and its own water well. From the property you walk directly up the hills for long walks or go for mountain bike rides.

    The house is situated in a small 'hameau' In the community Cussy-en-Morvan in the south-east of Parc naturel régional du Morvan’, a beautiful nature area in the middle of France, about 3 hours’ drive to Paris and 1 hour from Dijon. No light pollution makes for nights of stargazing and listening to owls calling each other from the high trees and forest starting at the back of the garden.

    We're seeking help from people who love nature and would like to help us renovate the house, outbuildings, and garden to turn it into a refuge for nature lovers and mountain bike enthusiasts.

    We're both just over 50 years young and happily unmarried together for over 25 years. Paul has worked in IT and construction and in his spare time always very active; renovating house, building motorbikes and lots and lots of mountain biking and always up to try out new things. His latest project a hot tub on wheels, built from scratch. When you come to stay with us, be sure to take advantage of his mountain bike experience. He's been an MTB guide and instructor for many years (in the Netherlands, Germany, and the Austrian, Swiss and Italian Alps), specialized in teaching beginners with his patience the basics of mountain biking, but he can also learn the more experienced cyclist some tricks. I (Jorinde) have always worked in international marketing roles and as such travelled the world and enjoyed other cultures. Since January '22 also dedicating all my time to build our moutainbike refuge, In my free time, I love learning new skills, arts & crafts, love baking, and I know my way around with DYI tools as well. Unfortunately, I'm suffering from a frozen shoulder, so can't really DYI as much as I would like. As I'm vegetarian there's no meat on the menu, but Paul still enjoys some meat (which had a good life) now and again, so there might be some on the table occasionally.

    We've got two pets; ‘Feya’ our 1-year-old dog and ‘Zwerver’ our cat who used to be a stray cat roaming around the neighbourhood and who adopted us one day some years ago. Gradually we're expanding our animal troops with some chickens and who knows what else once we're settled a bit more.

    While we do have a lot of DYI skills ourselves and we’ll have sometimes professionals helping us with the renovations, it’s a lot of work and therefore seeking help with all kind of tasks. And… we’d especially love it if you have skills, expertise, or knowledge we don’t possess ourselves, so we can learn from each other when you’re staying with us.

    Please get in touch if you are interested or would like further information.

    Paul & Jorinde

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We’re open to exchange ideas & practices of DYI skills, cooking, gardening, and we'd love to take you on our hikes and/or MTB rides to show you the beautiful and peaceful nature the Morvan has to offer.

    Paul is an experienced mountain-bike guide and instructor from the Netherlands (with lots of guiding in the Alps), so if you don't have mountain bike experience yet, he'll ensure that by the end of your stay you feel confident going downhill off road. And if you've got MTB experience, you get the chance to enjoy some nice rides together. We have mountain bikes you can borrow to go for a ride during your stay.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for help renovating the farmhouse, outbuildings and garden. There are plenty of tasks that need doing and depending on your skills and interest we decide together with you what would be best suited. No matter your background or experience, there is something you can do to help out.

    We are looking for someone (or couple/friends) who is practical, flexible, hands-on, not afraid to get their hands dirty, willing to learn and looks after the tools and equipment they use. Standards of finish are important to us and we would rather do a job once but properly, than quickly but again.

    Help is welcome for a variety of tasks & projects and will depend on the stage of the project and time of year. There's need for help indoors as well as outdoors; moving materials around the site, fallen trees to chop, creating wooden bridges & decking in garden, renovating the chicken coop, help with construction work (masonry, leveling floors, painting) in old barn and out buildings to make it habitable and so on and so on. We would also welcome extra hands for the neglected vegetable gardens and help out with our pets and with cooking meals for all of us.

    Work would be alongside us, 4-5 days a week with 25 hours max in total.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We particularly would love to host native French speakers in order to accelerate our French language learning, but we welcome everyone. We can learn you some Dutch and/or English.

  • Alojamiento


    A private living space with seating area, small kitchen, bedroom and private bathroom. We'll provide 3 meals a day for you during your stay with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Quality time for yourself and / or each other if you come here together. Opportunities to recharge your batteries and relax in a beautiful landscape. Many possibilities for recreation in nature; hiking, biking, horse riding, climbing, rafting etc.
    And you're in Burgundy, known for its great wines so if you're into wine be sure to go for a wine-tasting.

    Our place is located in the Morvan, a regional natural park. The granite massif of the Morvan is the nearest mountain range to Paris and covered with forests, and dotted with lakes. Ideal for people who love nature and outdoor living. It does mean though that the area is quite remote and there's not really (that much) public transport to get around. If you don't have your own means of transportation, we're happy to pick you up from nearest station, such as Dijon or Autun when you arrive and also get you back on the road of course. During your stay you can borrow one of our mountain bikes.

    There's also culture to explore! What makes the Morvan special is that you can enjoy the countryside whilst being able to discover renowned heritage sites. In Autun, a town of "art and history", you can take a stroll and explore both Roman and Romanesque architecture. On the other side of the region, you can also explore the town of Vézelay, perched on its "eternal hill", and designated a UNESCO world heritage site. And it was on Mont Beuvray that Bibracte was built, the capital of our ancestors, the Aedui people. Abandoned in Roman times in favour of town of Autun, the ancient settlement has for years been the subject of archaeological excavations. Scientists have discovered fortifications, caves, houses, and many objects used in daily life. Many of these objects are on display at Beuvray museum, located at the foot of the fortress. You can visit the archaeological digs with its twisted, hundred-year-old beech trees, legendary rocks, and sacred streams.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We've got plenty of space to park your own campervan or motorhome during your stay with us and be surrounded by nature

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We've got a dog and cat ourselves, so we're open to accept your pet as well of course as long as it's friendly to dogs and cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week (max 25 hrs a week)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 288815696112