Join a family in the heart of Vanderhoof, Britsh Columbia, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 22 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 1 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Welcome to Twisted Willow Ranch! We are a small farm located in the heart of British Columbia Canada. We have a small flock of sheep that we raise lambs from each year as well as a small herd of cattle for raising calves. In addition to our main farming livestock we have a variety of other animals. Such as horses, geese, chickens, rabbits and even a llama! There is also a garden and greenhouse. Here you will find a nice variety of experiences and learning opportunities in farming and homesteading. We have a large family with 5 children. Their ages range from 18 months up to 15 years old. While we spend a lot of time working at home on the farm, we also enjoy getting out for some fun and relaxation. We try to keep a nice balance between work and play. Some of the things we like to do are hiking, riding camping, boating, exploring neighboring communities etc. We like to be outdoors. We live in a welcoming community and are active in our local hall and the many functions that are held throughout the year. Our plans are to build on the foundations that we have, moving towards becoming more self sufficient. We believe that the knowledge of knowing how to grow, harvest and store home grown food and to be self sustainable is of great value in this world. We look forward to meeting new people to share our knowledge and experiences with, while also learning new things from them.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Being a small town, the main industries are farming and logging. While we ourselves are not loggers, we do know many people who are. The learning opportunities in both of these are quite available. You would also learn about the culture of rural living and the community that surrounds that.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Spring is filled with lots of baby animals and tending to their needs as well as those of the mothers. Daily feeding and watering. Seeds are started for the greenhouse and the garden is prepped for planting in late may. We plan to expand our garden this year and also build a second greenhouse. In the summer we have haying to do, fencing, maintenance and daily upkeep. There is also some DIY building projects. Most animals are on pasture at this point so need checked on frequently. Fall is busy with harvesting, canning and preserves, as well as prepping for winter with things like getting firewood, hauling in the hay from the field etc. We like to include our children in as much as possible. Sometimes this makes a project take longer than we would like. So some babysitting and help with keeping an eye on the younger 2 will also be very helpful.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Hungarian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a large fully equipped travel trailer for you to stay in. Providing you with your own space and privacy and also to give you some quiet time away from the chaos of 5 children! We know that sometimes you will need it. All meals will be provided by us in the house as a family. If for whatever reason you would like a quiet separate dinner for yourself, you are more than welcome to use the facilities in the travel trailer. It has pretty much everything you would need. It has a bathroom, shower, stove, fridge, heat, air conditioning etc. When we go camping, you will have the option to come along with us or if you would prefer to stay behind, you can stay in the house, as we would be taking the trailer with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a lake close by our house that is great for swimming and relaxing, as well as many other lakes in the area and many hiking trails. We live in a small rural town, where there is a pool, parks, a sturgeon fish hatchery and various other things. Neighboring towns are also fun to explore. We are about an hour away from a bigger city where there is also many things to see and do. My husband first came to Canada through this program, from Hungary. He speaks both english and hungarian fluently.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have an unlimited highspeed internet connection. As well as an area for you to work undisturbed.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 283559413695


Help near the Yukon river , Canada
Learn new skills helping us to rescue an old farm in Ladysmith, Canada