1 / 4

Join us on our Farm and enjoy the rich history in Kempt Head, Cape Breton, NS

  • Canadá
  • 96 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 02/02/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have 100 acres on Boularderie Island, a small island between Baddeck and Sydney, Cape Breton (Nova Scotia). We have a small flock of heritage chickens and turkeys in addition to a couple of horses, 3 sheep and one llama. When the chickens cooperate we farm gate our eggs but usually there is just enough to feed our Bed and Breakfast guests.

    Dave mostly works offsite trucking between Moncton, NB and Quebec/Ontario. I run the farm and our small Bed and Breakfast. I grow flowers for bouquets and am working on a small vegetable garden. I participate in our community farmgate farmers' market, volunteer behind the scenes for a couple of community groups, and am active in the Nova Scotia Bed and Breakfast association.

    There is always a project on the go. Currently we are working on an outdoor space that can be enjoyed by guests, visitors, friends, etc. It has a cookshack (a dedicated cooking space for our B&B guests) and fire pit surrounded by flower gardens. The gardens will have annuals, perennials and flowers I can use for bouquets. Phase One is the shade/pond garden and it is well underway.

    There is always something to do around here. Farm animals to care for, gardens to tend, fences to mend, trails to maintain, beaches to explore, sunsets to admire, and campfires to enjoy.

    Although we appreciate the help, the best part is making new friends!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cape Breton has a rich Scottish/Gaelic history. There is lots of music - of all genres, my favourite being the fiddle music - with lots of opportunities to soak up that culture. Baddeck (just across the lake) is home of Alexander Graham Bell. Did you know he invented more than just the telephone? Cape Breton's history comes alive at the Fortress of Louisbourg and the Highland Village. The world famous Cabot Trail is a sight to behold. We also have a rich and vibrant Mi'kmaq community.
    A unique feature is that our farm is located in the UNESCO Bras d'Or Lake Biosphere.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Dave works away I run the farm and bed and breakfast. Daily tasks include livestock care, lawn and garden care, cutting and maintaining trails.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Helpers can choose to live more independently in our off-grid trailer (located up the hill) or in our camper trailer parked by the house.

    Our expectation is that our helpers become part of the family working, eating, exploring, and relaxing together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Although I enjoy showing off the sights and experiences of Cape Breton, I also run a busy Bed & Breakfast. It is not always easy for me to take the time to "play tour guide", especially during July and August. It may be helpful if you have your own transportation. We do have bicycles and helmets that you can borrow.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Friendly dogs are accepted.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 279668591194

Comentarios (4)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






10 acre mountianside farm on Vancouver island BC, Canada
Help care for miniature donkeys and horses on a hobby farm in the Okanagan, Canada