Opportunity to live and help out on a stunning Highland estate in Torridon, Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

238 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    77.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 14 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young family (Louise, Luke and Ada) who are just starting out taking on the running of a stunning 14,000 acre estate in the Highlands of Scotland. It is a beautiful place and our dream is to create a new kind of tourism business, where people come to escape the pressures of modern life and learn more about the environment. We are planting trees and want to bring back wildlife wherever we can. Principally we need help cleaning and maintaining our two self catering properties on the estate. We also need help with general maintenance such as gardening, painting and building work. In the long term there may be opportunities to help with environmental and building projects. We are really looking forward to introducing new people to this area and making friends from around the world. We do not have any reviews yet as we are new to Workaway.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is quite simply a stunning place to live and work. People come from all over the world to see the views of the Torridon Hills and you will see them from your bedroom window! As an estate we are trying to conserve wildlife and there may be opportunities to plant and protect young trees. We are a friendly couple and will introduce you to other people in the area. But this job would suit someone happy to enjoy time alone and perhaps even take time for contemplation in this beautiful environment. You will have access to a van so be able to explore the local area including mountains to climb, lochs to swim in and castles to visit!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for hard working enthusiastic people who care about doing a job well. Excellent English is required as you will need to be able to take instructions, but a lot of the time you will be working alone so need to use your initiative. You will need a full UK driving licence to travel around the estate. Our most pressing need is cleaning the self catering properties on the estate. Ideally, you will have housekeeping experience but the most important thing is the ability to work hard. You would be cleaning a 4 bed holiday house once a week over at least six hours. Duties include making beds, deep cleaning the kitchen and toilets and tidying. We will expect a thorough clean and real attention to detail. You will also be cleaning an off-grid bothy two or three times a week, which is more of an outdoor job. There is the potential for other cleaning work in a neighbouring cottage. To make up extra time we need help with general maintenance such as strimming the grass, painting rooves and weeding around young trees. We would like people to come up with their own ideas for improving the estate such as planting a flower bed, painting a mural or making tinctures to sell from local ingredients. Why not be creative?

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can provide you with a comfortable room in a cottage on the estate. You will mostly be there alone but from time to time, myself (Louise) and my daughter (Ada) and boyfriend Luke will be living in the other room. The cottage has just been done up and there is a kitchen, dining/ living area. You would have your own bedroom and there is a shower. There is wood burning stove and small conservatory where you can enjoy the views. There is a good wifi connection. There is a small garden and it is very close to the pub! There are plenty of scenic walks nearby and a small shop within a short driving distance. Inverness, where you can stock up on food, is 1.5 hours away.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We will provide a small van for driving around the estate that could be used to explore the area on your days off. There is plenty to do, from visiting Loch Ness, to climbing a munro, to eating fresh seafood, to dolphin-watching. Although we do not live on the estate we will be visiting regularly and the local community is friendly. It is a remote place and much of the time you will be alone but this would suit someone looking to enjoy the peace and quiet and connect with the environment. The cottage you will be living in and even the houses you are cleaning are in such a beautiful place with deer, eagles and pine martens spotted from the front door! We would hope you would enjoy the day-to-day experience of being in such a wild and remote area. Ultimately it would be a good place to get to know the people and environment of the Highlands of Scotland, live a healthy outdoor lifestyle and help to create a positive business in a very special place.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 278686242211