Natural way of living in a wall tent in the beautiful Rocky Mountains, Coleman, Canada

Country

Canadá

26 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Located in the Southern Rockies of Alberta, within the community of Crowsnest Pass, this 5 acre property is a welcoming destination for travellers who are looking to spend time in the beautiful Canadian Rocky Mountains and reconnect with the land and natural ways of living. The vision for the property is to create a small self-sustainable community utilizing both new technology and old techniques with spaces for living and connecting with others. It will eventually include garden space (both outdoor raised beds and indoor greenhouse), communal gathering spaces (both indoor and outdoor) for events and activities, a sawmill and wood shop, a forge for blacksmithing metal tools, a kiln for firing clay, a tannery for processing hides, an apiary, some chickens and a few livestock perhaps (the land base is still quite small but maybe a cow or goat for milk), a waterwheel mill (or some other way to utilize the creek on the property), a rock wall surrounding the property (for multiple purposes - privacy, noise abatement, and protection), and many other self-sustainable permaculture practices.

    Right now I have recently finished the process of completing land clearing for proposed infrastructure. At the moment there is always work to be done outside such as fall yard cleanup, firewood preparation, construction of an outhouse, construction of a small cabin-living quarters, construction of wooden/log raised bed gardens, construction of a chicken coop/kennel area, constructing a trail to the creek In the valley on the back of the property, foraging for fresh herbs and plants in the area, etc.

    Particular skills I am looking for in people at the moment include: gardening, landscaping, carpentry, masonry, animal husbandry, plant identification, cooking. I also welcome people who can bring other talents and specific skills to share to the community as well (ie. holistic healing, health and fitness, music, arts and recreational activities).

    I currently have space available on the property for 2 workawayers in the form of shared accommodations in a fully setup and 12’ x 22’ wall tent w/ wood stove and full kitchen as well as shared access to a washroom and laundry in the house. Full bedding and a cot with storage bins will be provided. Food will be provided and group meals/meal preparation is encouraged.

    The first immediate project will be construction of a 16’ x 22’ insulated cabin with wood stove with an aim to complete and be able to use by winter.

    The property is a 5 minute drive from town and amenities and easily accessible just off the highway. More info can be provided upon request.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Live with and learn from a Blackfoot Native American with an open mind and knowledge of the local area and history, including native trees, plants, and animals.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    General help for outdoor tasks, firewood preparation, gardening, construction/carpentry/masonry projects, operating a tractor/backhoe/chainsaw, providing assistance in caring for pets, household cleaning, foraging foods, communal cooking, holistic healing, health and fitness, art and music

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Happy to practice language and culture sharing. I also speak Blackfoot but not fluently and am willing to share what I know

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I currently have available a newly setup 12’ x 22’ outdoor wall tent with full accommodations including a full kitchen area with 4 propane stovetop cookers and pot/dish sets, a canvas floor, a large wood stove with plenty of wood, cots with heavy duty -30 sleeping bags and lots of warm bedding, personal shelving/storage space inside the tent.

    The first immediate project will be construction of a 16’ x 22’ insulated cabin with wood stove with an aim to complete and be able to use by winter. It will have two bedrooms and one main room w loft space.

    Groceries/food will be provided and group cooking is always encouraged/welcomed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As mentioned the property is 5 min from town and easily accessed from the highway. Tons to do in the area including hiking, mountain biking, fishing, stand up paddle boarding, canoeing, rock climbing, trail running, swimming, golfing, skiing/snowboarding, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, and all kinds of motorized sports. Lots of caves, lakes, forests, mountains and history all around. Larger cities and amenities within 1.0 - 2.5hr drive in almost any direction. Lots of good restaurants, shops and cafes to try out.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is lots of space for any sort of vehicle

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets are welcome providing they are pee trained and have no destructive/aggressive habits. I have a 4 year old fixed male mini husky who is very friendly and well behaved, and a 1 year old puppy caucasian shepherd who is still quite wild..

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 273811239931