Come help us extend our eco home in the mountains of Golden, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

98 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 41 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Andy, Charlie and Trigger the dog! We have recently moved to Golden BC from the UK after an amazing Workaway experience here 3 years ago. We built our eco home here 2 years ago with some amazing volunteers, and now we’re expecting a baby and looking to build an extension on the eco home, as well as do some general work, around the15 acres of land and the lodge, where you’ll be staying.

    Andy is an engineer having had a 10 year career in aerospace and more recently in energy, and is now building is knowledge and experience as a passive house consultant. Charlie was previously a Human Resources Business Partner within the financial and legal sector, and now works for a local credit union.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have lots of experience helping people develop new skills and would love to help you get from this experience what you need for the future. You may want to acquire a new practical skill or experience managing a project of your own. There will be a variety of tasks, from building, carpentry, plumbing, landscaping as well as walking the dog.
    We really value the knowledge and ideas that Workawayers can bring and look forward to you joining us on this journey.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to host two people, ideally travelling together who are excited to get stuck into the jobs we have going on. A can do attitude is more valuable than any particular skills. If you have any prior knowledge of building and carpentry then that would be great, if not then we will learn together.

    We feel that a 2 week minimum stay will help ensure you get the chance to get stuck into some interesting and exciting work.

    The current jobs in the to do list are;

    Building an addition to the side of our eco house; from foundations through to completion. Including framing, sheathing, roofing, excavation, mudding, finishing work.
    Putting in foundations for our tiny house build.
    Landscaping the area introducing more diversity with native species and low water needs
    Maintaining and creating trails through our 15 acre forest
    Outdoor Painting / staining / deck maintenance

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay in our 4 bedroom lodge, where we will frequently be (we mainly live in our eco house). Both are on the same plot of land. You will have your own room and share a bathroom with only your travel companion. We have high speed WiFi, Netflix and a hot tub, so if you don’t want to spend your spare time on the many hiking, biking and running trails close by then there is plenty to keep you entertained. We may have the odd family member or friend stay in the lodge during your time, and we may also stay their if family do visit.

    We will provide food, and will likely eat with you regularly but not always. We can be very flexible on timing depending on your plans that day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Golden is a centre for outdoor enthusiasts with national parks within an hours drive and Kicking Horse resort on the doorstep.

    You will need your own transport due to the rural location and for access to all of the parks nearby.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have Starlink so 150MBps reliable wifi connection. Plenty of table top / counter space to plug in and work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Well behaved dogs welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Approx 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 262361947766