Help out on a family owned small scale permaculture and progressive cold climate farm near Dawson Creek BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

183 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    815

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ** Update ** There have been a few changes on the farm this year: Due to work pressure, we have only Dogs, Cats, and Horses at this time (plus the Llama) all the getting ready for winter things are still in full swing, and there is a lot that you could experience. The chickens, goats, pigs though are taking a break. ** This is temporary and we will return to full livestock soon! **


    Our young family (Jaime, Jennifer + Children Marcus, Hadrian and William) owns and operates a small scale permaculture and progressive cold climate agriculture farm on 125 acres near Dawson Creek BC, historic start of the Alaska Highway. We grow and products of all types for our family, and our consumption. have a small creamery for cheese production, make several types of cured meats, and we are constantly experimenting different growing methodologies. Our goal is to push back the months of food and produce winter drought in the far north, and advance practical methods for high latitude food security.

    Additionally, the stables is a breeding and training facility for Hanoverian Warmbloods, we have a W line stallion on the farm, and a variety of horses, from broodmares, yearlings, and training prospects. You might even get to go for rides if you have the skills.

    Many of our guests are traveling the Historic Alaska Highway, or traveling to and from other work away hosts in Fort St John, Grande Prairie, Taylor, Tumbler Ridge, Prince George, Chetwynd, Williams Lake, Quesnel and further points south.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have focused on the ease of homesteading skills, we produce all our own cleaning and household products, as well as all our own food as much as possible. Canada is a wonderfully diverse culture, and we love the exchange with our guests, and we aim to expose our visitors and guests to the beauty of the people and young heritage of our part of the world.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Whether is is milking goats, making cheese, sampling and curing bacon (or other ethically raised meat products) baking breads, picking fruit, or sawing timber and building outbuildings, our days are diverse, and we are very likely to do what we can to select projects for your stay that suit your interests and abilities.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have private bedrooms, for singles or couples. Additionally we have a two bedroom suite for small groups, and detached cabins for artist in residence, or artisan retreats. We offer pretty fine meals x3 a day in addition to your stay, and look forward to tasting some of your cuisine if you would like to have a go at cooking!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a wide variety of activities both on and off the farm, from small craft sailing, horseback riding, hiking, hunting, and fishing. Rock climbing, art galleries and farmers markets, local concerts, and many many more. Please let us know what kind of things you like to do in your time off, and we will do what we can to facilitate it!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    It seems to average out to 4-5 hours, some days are very quiet. Some days we are powering through to finish a project. Our goal is that we are sensitive to the needs of the farm, and the needs of our guests. We don't track hours, or force you to clock in

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 231623984151