Help us with outdoor projects and creating a passive greenhouse in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, Canada

Country

Canadá

31 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on a beautiful piece of land, 120 acres, south west of Calgary , in Bragg Creek, the gateway to Kananaskis Country, 4.000sq km of wilderness to explore. We moved from Italy 22 years ago with 2 little kids who are now grown up and live elsewhere. We have done lots of everything, had horses and chickens, vegetable garden and a guest lodge. Now things have slowed down and we have a beautiful log home, a great garden, where we are building a solar passive greenhouse, a flower garden, an extensive forest, a creek and pond where we relax on our canoe. Next to our home we have a large workshop, with woodworking and painting space.
    Lots a wildlife around us, birds, waterfowl, moose, deer and sometime cougars and bears. Leaving here we have learned a lot about this amazing environment and how to live in harmony with nature.
    Alvise is an artist and amazing carpenter and he built our home perfectly integrated in this environment where he has managed to bring nature inside the house with creative carving and colors. I love gardening and I’m curious about forest medicine. On this land we have many amazing plants good to eat and to heal. We both took a permaculture course and we try to bring into the land the principle of it. We have bees and a forest garden, we grow lots of the food we eat. We heat our home with the wood we harvest from our forest, we mill the wood we need for our projects, we are aiming to be “Self-sufficient”
    I harvest wild herbs make teas and balms, we also integrate in our diet what the forest offers us and we grow edible mushrooms. We are super curious about mushrooms and beside growing them, we harvest wild ones in the forest.
    We have learned a lot living here, trying to keep up, with this bountiful but often harsh environment.
    We like to hike and go camping, and Bragg Creek offers a lot of beautiful opportunities, just outside our doorstep, Looking out of the window of the house towards the forest and our pond is a rewarding experience. We are located only 1 hour from Banff National Park.
    We practice yoga every morning, we dance and walk everyday to keep healthy and to connect with what around us.
    We have a pet cat. He lives outside and he’s very independent.
    We have an outdoor pizza oven that we enjoy and always bake our own sourdough bread and delicious baking.
    We are vegetarian/vegan.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can offer our knowledge of this land, you will learn about the forest, about food and medicine plant, mushrooms and permaculture. You will experiment building techniques. We can teach you how to fall trees in a safe way. Natural beekeeping will be part of the learning if you wish.
    We also love to share the beautiful area we live in and will take you hiking and camping with us. You can learn how to make a real Italian pizza and focaccia, bread making and fantastic baking and lot more.
    We can teach you Italian language.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This year we had quite a few violent storms that have knocked down lots of trees and we need to cleanup the fallen trees. This activity is physically demanding and it involves, moving large chunks of trees, cut them , split them , woodchip what we leave for the forest ground and reduce fire hazard. We have quad/tractor/trailer, wood splitter and wood chipper.
    We need help building our solar passive greenhouse, foundation are in place but lot of works need to be done. While we are building the greenhouse, the growing area is limited but some gardening will need some attention to. Depending on the time you are here, you an assist with wild plants picking, drying and storing.
    Another project for this year is building a timber frame/ post and beam shed for farm vehicles and clean up our lumber yard.
    We are Italian and cook good organic nourishing meals and we always love some help in the kitchen.
    Some work will be around bees depending on the time of the year.
    All jobs needs quite a bit of energy and availability to stay outside most of the time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have 2 bedrooms each with it’s own bathroom and queen beds . Our rooms are perfect for couples, but we can offer single beds too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are 5 km from Bragg Creek (pub, grocery store, few restaurants, post office, art galley). There are not public transport in Bragg Creek. But Calgary is 40 min away and we go there once a week.
    When you are off you can hike the network of trails on the property, bike to Bragg Creek, we can take you to Calgary and from there you can go and visit the Banff National park. The Great Canadian Trail pass Bragg Creek. We go hiking and camping , we avoid busy weekends and busy places and you are welcome to join us!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes we can... our internet connection is OK.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you want to stay in your motorhome, you are welcome to do so, and use bathroom in the house or workshop.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 227481872462