actualizado  

Experience small farm living in a bucolic country setting, near Monmouth, Oregon, USA

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Presently. Recovering from foot surgery, the garden and landscaping has also suffered. Having experience in these areas is necessary, as I'm not able to be the hands on mentor this Summer.

    Hi there! Welcome to our small, non-commercial farm, located on 5 beautiful acres in the countryside! On our small farm there are several raised beds, a greenhouse, summer vegetables, a blueberry and raspberry patch, and a swimming pond. Strider the farm dog is our beloved 3 year old English Shepherd. This means we cannot have pup visitors during your experience here. Most of the farm is a fenced pasture for 6 to 8 sheep, 30 to 40 chickens and several varieties of fruit trees. There is a symbiotic relationship between the sheep, chickens, fruit trees, and the small lake. Think sustainable living and farming. Our home and garden are surrounded by perennial plantings of herbs and flowers. Much of the food and herbs we eat are grown here. We share excess harvest with neighbors and Workawayer guests! Sustainability is our philosophy, and permaculture is our approach. The farm is nestled in the central Willamette Valley, close to the cities of Salem, McMinnville, and Corvallis; Portland and Eugene are not far. Eastern Oregon is a beautiful high desert with lava fields, forests and ski resorts. The ocean, rivers, and many bays, are close.

    David has a wealth of knowledge and experience, and has stories to share. With a masters degree in psychology he has worked as a social worker with Children's Services, developed a vineyard and then a winery, constructed his home and winery, then remodeled and developed this diverse and sustainable homestead.

    With a wealth of information and experiences, there are sources and resources of information on farming, permaculture, gardening, irrigation, marketing, and food preservation. Your presence is helpful as I am of an age where a desire to share this with others is important to me.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Whether from the USA or another country, we value, respect and provide an open, receptive and supportive environment for the exchange of culture and knowledge.

    In this quiet setting, you can be a part of a cohesive community, while also feeling recognized as a unique individual. Guests who spend time here generally leave having gained knowledge, knowing their work and contributions have been valued, and an expanded skill set, better equipped to continue their journey. Your happiness is our reward! (Feel free to check out the reviews left from past guests.)

    I enjoy sharing as well as learning from you, welcome your experiences and knowledge. This exchange is mutually beneficial. Here, exists the opportunity to feel appreciated, grounded and connected, while exploring your relationship with Nature.

    Learning to live in balance
    Takes time.
    Patience and perseverance.

    Nature is our mentor.
    We are all stewards of the earth.
    Through listening,
    Observing nature,
    We grow and learn,
    Cultivating wisdom.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    First of all, you must have a vehicle.

    Secondly, you must be fully vaccinated, boosted and updated with the latest covid strain. A photo of your record is required. Specifically. Due to having foot surgery, I will have limited mobility for 2 to 3 months. And, I won't be able to drive.

    Broadly speaking. Winter is pruning time, grapevines, blueberries, raspberries, perennial plantings and fruit trees. Raised beds are cleaned up, 200 wire cages are removed and dead plants are composted. March and April is seed starting time. Late April and May we are direct seeding and transplanting starts, weeding flower beds, weed whacking with a weed eater, addressing irrigation needs. Brush removal, landscaping and maintenance projects are ongoing throughout the Summer when there's time. Food preservation and processing occur mostly in June, Sept, Oct. and Nov. We dry apples, pears, spearmint and other herbs. Freezing and canning veggies and fruits, making jams, salsa and hot sauce. Roasting peppers and eggplant. Planting of Winter greens, leaks and garlic happens in August and Early Sept. In the Fall we may make cider.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay in the main house. The tiny house is occupied by Katie. In the main house, you will have your own fully furnished bedroom with dresser, single bed, desk, small refrigerator and closet. The great room is a shared space. It includes the living room, kitchen and dining spaces. The kitchen is very large, 6 burner stove, granite countertops, large refrigerator, pantry, two ovens, grain mill, two mix masters, and most everything you will need. Washer and dryer are in the garage.

    Having a single bed, means I can only accept one person.

    There are two outdoor picnic tables and chairs, a grill, chaise lounges, and a large fire pit. The back porch is covered, has a swing, and there's a 12 ft x 12 ft deck overlooking the pond. The pond has a dock and is warm in Summer for swimming, and a resource for irrigation of the fruit trees.

    There is no smoking in the house. Smoking outdoors is OK. I am 420 friendly.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    From here, it is about an hour to the ocean ( the cities of Newport, Lincoln City, and Pacific City) It is 30 to 35 minutes west of Salem, North of Corvallis, and South of McMinnville. Portland and Eugene are one hour and 15 minutes away. Wineries surround us up and down the valley. The Willamette river is 7 miles away. The Cascade mountains are an hour to the East. The high desert, obsidian fields, and rock climbing are further to the East. Skiing at Mount Hood, Mt Jefferson and Mt Bachelor, white water rafting, and many other adventures await you. Rivers are abundant. Monmouth University is just 5 miles away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There are two routers with speeds up to 60 mbs. Cell reception is spotty.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 221393642299

Comentarios (16)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.9)



















Visit our habitat in the North Carolina foothills, USA
Help create gardens and with a tiny house project near the Pecos Wilderness of New Mexico, USA