Springtime help in the garden, woodlands and home in rural Messac, France

  • Francia
  • 65 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 ene 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Coronavirus update:
    We understand how difficult it must have been for some Workawayers caught up in the Coronavirus situation - we had one lovely young lady who came for 3 weeks and ended up stuck with us for nearly three months! Luckily she has now been able to return home - and in fact we all had a pretty nice ‘confinement‘ all together! So we are again happy to invite enquiries from Workawayers who would like to help us out.

    We would be able to receive Workawayers (a single or a couple) on a self-sufficient basis - living and catering for yourself in your own little house next door, in return for 2 or 3 hours work a day. Since we are very rural, with no shops etc within 10km, this could be a little more lonely than a usual Workaway where we would take our meals etc together! Please keep this in mind before applying. Your own transport/car would be a definite bonus for you. Those with a caravan/motorhome looking for a base would also be very welcome.

    We are a British couple living in rural SW France with our horses and cats who would love to share our peaceful space in return for help with the everyday jobs that come with an old country house and large garden. Jobs include weeding, pruning, more weeding... help with lime mortar building and roofing, sanding, painting and decorating. Also must be prepared to help with everyday cleaning and tidying in the house and garden.

    Although we are in France, our French is not great yet, we’ve only been here a year or so and were in the Austrian Alps for five years before we moved here, so we speak a little German. Prior to that we lived between central London and a rather remote Scottish hill moor village so we are pretty versatile in our lifestyle and we enjoy interacting with people from different cultures and social backgrounds.

    We would also be particularly happy to welcome a French speaker, for help with our French, and we both have tefl english qualifications so very happy to help with your English.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are lucky to live in a very beautiful and tranquil area, surrounded by woodlands, vineyards and open countryside. If you enjoy walking or cycling then you will love it!

    We practise Tai chi, a little yoga and walk a lot and you are welcome to join us.

    Also perfect for fitness enthusiasts who want to combine functional strength and conditioning into their routine! Seriously, if you are training for cycling, running or triathlon, this would be your heaven!

    You may have the opportunity to learn about pruning trees, building and repointing walls, repairing roofs, house maintenance including painting and wood repair, building log piles, horse behaviour & management, mowing grass, pushing wheelbarrows (lol, much of our life seems to involve pushing a wheelbarrow!), woodland management... basically learning about living in the countryside!

  • Ayuda


    Spring jobs e.g. gardening, woodland management, spring cleaning, building repairs and maintenance, horse pasture management including muck spreading and weeding fields. Some jobs are heavy work and so you must be used to, for example, heavy gardening - if you can dig a garden and push a full wheelbarrow you should be ok! Wet weather work includes spring cleaning house, cleaning floors, windows, dusting etc.

    We are currently renovating buildings so if you are interested in learning skills like lime mortar building and pointing or roofing then please apply!

    We are also looking for someone to help us improve our French speaking skills. You would not need to do the heavy work as well, although a little help with the lighter jobs would be useful.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a self-contained, attached gîte with its own bedroom, shower room and large living room with full kitchen for your use, TV etc.. As we work long hours from home, we would expect you to cater for your own meals yourself.

    We have an outdoor, unheated pool (11m) which you are welcome to use (NB unheated means it is cold!)

    Please note that our internet connection is only via 4G mobile and our data is limited so there is no connection for Netflix etc., although of course you can use your own mobile data plan.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We cannot provide any transport so you would need your own. Although you would be welcome to hitch a lift for a weekly food shop. Shops are around 10km away. In general, you would be best with your own transport/car/bicycle/ebike.

    We do not actually leave home very much - we only go to the shops two or three times a month. And we tend to find our visitors just lose themselves here too!

    The nearest city is Bordeaux, around an hour away. However, there are no local buses or public transport. It may be possible for us to give a lift to the nearest train station at our nearest town, Montendre (train directions to Bordeaux and La Rochelle) or there is quite an active Blabla/car sharing network in France.

    It is a very rural area so you need to be someone who truly enjoys peace and quiet and living with nature. We are surrounded by wildlife - birds, owls, deer, boar and the skies are very dark at night so wonderful for birdwatchers and stargazers (we have a telescope you can use).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Well behaved pets are very welcome. Must be ok with cats and horses. Please ask for more information.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2 to 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 175315316536

Comentarios (2)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)