General help around the home - rural Gascony France.




4 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    British born, but soon adopted a peripatetic life. When finished working for United Nations in Pakistan I moved to my dream home in Moustey, France. I have lived and worked in Pakistan, Afghanistan, India, Japan, Russia, Lebanon, USA, France, Kenya, and UK. I have also travelled to over 100 countries - so should be well placed to have some cultural exchange!

    Sami - the dog a "Royal Afghan Street Hound" (!!) - will be at the property.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to share my life experiences, having set up home in a new country every two years for the the last few decades. Working internationally with United Nations I have plenty of stories and advice to share with workawayers as a cultural exchange. Workawayes can learn from my experiences in Pakistan, Afghanistan, India, Japan, Russia, Lebanon, Palestine, Kenya, America and even UK!

    Being rather linguistically challenged I have plenty if tips on how to survive in an unfamiliar foreign tongue.

    I am located in Moustey, Landes, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, South West France. The village is rather authentic and totally untouristy giving workawayers a chance to meet and learn about local culture from my interesting neighbours and other locals. Set iin the forest there are many experiences to be had in hiking and walking including along the river Leyre.

    I can teach workawayers about working in international organizations.
    I hope to learn from my workawayers about their culture and outlook on life.

  • Ayuda


    I need general help in maintaining my home and garden. I am particularly useless at DIY - so someone with practical DIY skills will be very welcome!
    This is my home.
    I am COVID double vaccinated and I prefer my workawayers to be vaccinated please.
    I also rent out rooms during the summer however workawayers will not be helping or involved with the rental business side of things - and I cannot accept workawayers from June to August. My home is a magnificent five bedroom 1830's spacious family home in Gascony with private swimming pool. It is a real get-away-from-it-all location, yet only 3kms to the pretty village of Moustey. 45 mins to Bordeaux.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Own private room and bathroom. Use of all the house, gardens and swimming pool (In season)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    My property is very remote and cannot be accessed by public transport. I can lend you a bicycle to get to the local village (3kms) - but if you want to go further for your leisure activities you'll need your own car. If you do not have transport - for your arrival and departure I can pick up / drop off in Bordeaux or nearby.

    Immediately on the boundary of the property is the forest which is ideal for hikes and all manner of outdoor activities. The property is located between the Grande Leyre and the Petite Leyre rivers. These small calm rivers are great for kayaking/canoeing (available for rent locally), a paddle or a bracing dip.

    Plenty of activities. Swimming (pool, rivers, lakes, and sea), kayaking (local rental), biking/hiking/jogging on forest trails, hiking, dog walking, horse riding (local stables very close at end of forest track). There are numerous games available in the house including, a whole trunk of boardgames, badminton set (net plus 6 rackets), table football, and garden lawn darts.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Although the house is remote the wifi is still OK speed. 4G mobile signal is a bit weak.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Huge garden - plenty of space to park

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Must Love Dogs! All dogs welcome. I have my own dog who is very sociable with other dogs as well as humans. Please ask about other pets.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 165986665442