Explore Galapagos and help with animal welfare

Country

Ecuador

652 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi Animal-Lovers

    You allways wanted to visit the unique Galapagos Islands and at the same time do something good?
    You love all animals and you love that taking care of animals is called work?
    Then you are at the right place with us.
    Be part and help us from the very beginning to build bit by bit our brand NEW project.
    THE FIRST ANIMAL SHELTER ON GALAPAGOS

    My Husband and I are a young couple living on the beautiful Galapagos Island Santa Cruz where we have a little farm and we made it our mision to rescue domestic animals like dogs cats pigs and other animals here on Galapagos.
    We rescue misstreated, starved, forgotten and unwanted animals and give them a place where they get a lot of love and time to recover from whatever they went through. We take all of them to the vet to help them with whatever they need, and also sterelize and vaccinate them before they ever go in adoption. Because after they are completely recoverd we try to find the perfect forever homes. Many of the dogs stay for ever.
    All this and much more is a a lot of work for us two and thats why we need you!!!
    You can help us from the very beginning change the future for many furfriends here on GPS.

    My Husband (28) is a local galapagueño from Galapagos, I (30) was born in Switzerland and we live at our little farm in the highlands of Santa Cruz Island 20 minutes by bicycle from the big town Puerto Ayora (10min by car). My Husbands speaks spanish and english and i speak spanish english and german. We have about 7000 m2 with a lot of Coffee plants Bananapalms and other fruits and vegetables and a bunch of animals running in between all that.

    At the moment we count - 22 Dogs, 2 Cats and 2 Pigs - sharing our space.

    Our dream is to help more animals in to live. Unfortunately there is nothing like a shelter for dogs so far here but we want to be the first ones because we really need and want to make a change.
    In the future we want to have a nice shelter structure with all what is necessary like kennels pool vetstation etc. but step by step
    We want our project to be also good for the enviorment and thats why we try to use as much as we can recycled (bottles, tires, wooden palletts) or natural materials (bamboo, porotiio, wood) to build. Creative technical minds are allways very welcome here!

    Works for Volunteers now at the beginning can be

    - cooking for the animals and feeding them (morning and evening)
    - clean after animals
    - build dog houses
    - reforce fence that dogs cant escape
    - build cat tree
    - brush the pigs
    - fruitpicking (depending season)
    - coffee beans picking (depending season)
    - gardening
    - build a bungalow
    - build an outside kitchen
    - Cuddle with the animals and spend time with them


    If all this sounds interesting to you and you would like to help us please send me a Mail.

    We offer you a private bedroom,shared bathroom with hot shower, kitchen to use, 1 bicycle to use while your stay.
    Fruits and Veggies form the garden can be consumed any time for free.

    Apart of your help you have many things to explore like beautiful beaches, las grietas, the giant tortoises in the highlands and unbelievable many things more.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    apart of your help you can explore Galapagos which is one of the most unique places on earth where wild animals in high quantity are living in harmony with humans. Its a wonderfull place for all animal and nature lovers. Unique landscapes where Cactus crow next to palm trees and animals all around. Galapagos has 50% of his magic under water and 50% on land. so A paradise for all divers and hobby snorklers too.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Possible works for volunteers

    - cooking for the animals and feeding them (morning and evening)
    - clean after animals (poo in the garden)
    - build dog houses (with recycling materials)
    - reforce fence that dogs cant escape (with natural porotio plant) not always necessary
    - build cat tree
    - brush the pigs
    - fruitpicking (depending season)
    - coffee beans picking (depending season)
    - gardening
    - build a bungalow
    - build an outside kitchen
    - Cuddle with the animals and spend time with them

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    private bedroom in the owners house, shared bathroom with hot water shower.
    private fridge for volunteers and kitchen to share. All fruits and Vegetables from the garden are free to consume all time.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm is close but still far. the next shop (with variety) is 15 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by bike. Galapagos is in general a very expensive place. Every saturday is a big market where they sell all fruits vegetables meat and whatever you need. we recommend to buy there for the week.
    VERY IMPORTANT NOTICE!!!
    The Airport to Fly in and arrive on the correct Island is BALTRA GALAPAGOS. Please take that in note otherwise you'll have to take a Boat from one island to the other for two hours and 30$

    AND!!!
    I think we still need to do the invitation card for every volunteer! That takes up to 5 workingdays and it's necessary that the flight is bought allready.
    They try to get rid off this IC but solong please take that in note too.
    With this i make us responsible for you and they know where you stay!

    VERY IMPORTANT
    We are searching for volunteers total = 4 (2 couples)
    from mid March 2020 - mid May 2020 who stay all for 2 months!!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day 5days/ week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 162534859688