Come and learn what goes into animal production, how to be safe around animals and handle them quietly with as little stress as possible in Shamrock, Canada



85 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Good Host
  • Descripción


    Hi! My husband Larry, myself (Liezel) and our boy Liam would like to welcome you to our sheep ranch in southwest Saskatchewan.
    Wide open spaces and living skies and gentle rolling hills is where we are at. 2 hours to Grasslands National Park, 3 and a bit to Cypress Hills and the dinosaur museum at Eastend.
    St Victors Petroglyphs is 1.5 hours away.
    The best kept secret in Canada is the southwest part of Saskatchewan :)
    Anyways. So we are a sheep ranch with about 600ewes. We lamb in February/March/April/May.
    Sheep shearing days are fun, come join in gathering the fleeces on our annual wool harvest in the spring.
    We help out at cattle brandings and there are always rodeos to attend on weekends in the summer.
    During lambing time jobs include feeding and watering ewes in the bonding pens, assisting with bringing sheep into bonding pens, moving them out and of course feeding cute baby bottle lambs.
    And there’s always a lot of laundry and house cleaning and feeding hardworking helpers too!
    During the summer duties include
    Building portable and permanent fence, checking the sheep, moving sheep from one pasture to the next.
    There’s lots of grass to mow and if you’re interested in learning to drive tractors, you can help with haying season too!
    Occasionally we bring the flock in to weigh ewes and lambs as part of our healthy flock management, as well as treat for parasites, flies, vaccinate.
    We will teach you proper stock handling techniques, and share our passion for grass and grazing and regenerative agriculture.
    We have horses suitable for beginners and experienced riders and lots of wide open space to ride.
    We have a big garden that’s still developing, so tree planting/gardening could be on the to-do list too!
    If you don’t have a vehicle, we have a little run-around car that you can use to go explore the beauty of the southwest on your days off.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can teach you the finer nuances of livestock handling and learning how to read livestock. Learn what goes into animal production. Learn how to be safe around animals and handle them quietly with as little stress as possible.
    We like to share meals, I’m originally from South Africa and will cook some traditional South African food!
    We have a fire pit for evening bonfires, provided that it’s not too dry.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    2019 September we are still busy with haying. In October we are dismantling a steel building in Yorkton and moving it to the farm to re-assemble.

    Our 2020 lambing season will run from March 1 until May 10. We will shear the ewes around March 5/6, and lambing officially starts around March 16.

    We really have something for everyone!
    Work with the sheep, do fencing, if you want to learn to drive a tractor we will teach you. Summer is for haying, hauling manure from corrals to spread on the pasture
    House cleaning, our vehicles always need cleaning because we drive gravel roads lots.
    Lawn to cut, garden to work on, garage to clean and tidy up, the day-to-day stuff like feeding the dogs(6 big white livestock guardian dogs and 2 stock dogs)
    Checking the horses, ponies, rams, and general flock management.
    Lambing time is a lot of feeding and watering and putting down fresh bedding in the bonding pens, and who doesn’t like feeding cute little bottle lambs!
    Did I mention fencing? ;) it never ends I swear!
    We work long days here. Some workers enjoy hanging out with us all day, while some like to do their chores and then go explore. Either is fine with us, let us know what your expectations are.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have 2 options:
    2 bedrooms in the basement of our house OR
    I have a small 2 bedroom house in the village of Shamrock (population of about 20 people- that’s right, 20!)
    That’s about 16km from the farm but about halfway between our home farm and our “North” pasture. So if you’d like your own spot for some privacy, you can stay at the Shamrock house and drive our run-around car.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Moose Jaw has a lovely spa and Tunnels and the Sukanen ship museum and a charming downtown.
    Swift Current has Docs Town and Frontier Days.
    Grasslands National Park
    St Victors Petroglyphs
    The Big Muddy
    Cypress Hills
    Lake Diefenbaker
    Regina and Saskatoon are all within 3 hours

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 157777742226