1 / 5

Help care for sled dogs in the Yukon, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 602 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    We are two people with 48 sled dogs on 160 acres on the Yukon River, 25 km from downtown Whitehorse, Yukon. We are looking for help hooking up teams and cleaning the dog yard, plus other projects as they may come up. You would have your own log handler cabin with electricity and a wood stove. It has a kitchenette as well.

    Whitehorse is a good town and there is a lot to do in the area if you have a car. One person, or two people traveling together are welcome. You must be at least 23 years old.

    Stays of one month minimum. We do not reply to requests to come for less than that.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn how to look after sled dogs, live a cabin lifestyle. Be a part of what we do, and that includes get togethers with friends if you are interested in joining in.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda


    The position involves most aspects of caring for sled dogs. Cleaning the yard, hooking up dog teams, and cleaning kennel rooms are the basic daily activities. You will be running teams as well if you are interested in it and show an ability. We will try to teach you.

    The fact that you could be here alone at times is why we want people who are at least 23. Hoping for people with some life experience and ability to handle responsibility.

    We have had several excellent 'dog people' stay here from Workaway. People who are very much into learning about sled dogs, spending time with them and learning how to look after them and run them.

    In the winter this position is more involved with training teams.

    We buy the groceries you choose and will cover your incidentals. There are cooking facilities in the handler cabin.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    One room cabin with a bed, desk and chair, a wood stove for heat, a cook stove top and microwave, and a sink. It is hidden in the trees and has a very private porch facing the sun, and its own outhouse. It has electricity but no running water. There is hot and cold running water and a big sink 200 feet away in the feed shed, with a shower dedicated for the dog handler. This cabin is only about 150 feet from our cabin, but we can't see each other. It is fairly private.

    Limited internet included. Laundry machines are in our house.

    We do not lend out our vehicles but you can get rides to town with us if you don't have a vehicle of your own.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We would like to see people take a genuine interest in the dogs, get their work done efficiently, then make the most of their stay in terms of their own enjoyment. The trails and the frontage on the Yukon River are a plus. We have a canoe and kayak; snow shoes etc. that you can use.

    There is a wall tent at the waterfront and a wood burning hot tub if you want to organize a 'stay-cation' for yourself at the waterfront.

    There are many more hikes in the area, and we have a property 150 km away in Atlin, BC, which is beautiful and nice to visit. Road bicycling is popular in our area as is mountain biking. There is a lot to do in the Yukon, and there are all kinds of things going on in Whitehorse. It depends on how mobile you are, like whether you have your own vehicle, to a large extent.

    You should enjoy your own company and be independent. We are not in the house hanging around much so if you are super social and like to sit down with people for dinner each night, you might get lonely. Generally it's people who like to read, explore on their own, and who have interests and hobbies and activities that they like such as running, skiing, biking, reading, writing, art, etc, who are happiest around here. We do have dinner together and go out together also, but it's not a daily thing.

    The cabin is strictly non-smoking. If you smoke a little, that is okay but If you smoke more than say, 6 cigarettes a day or feel the need to smoke inside, this is not the place for you. No heavy alcohol or pot consumers either. A little is fine, but daily drinkers etc. does not work out.

    Fit people who love animals and who have experience working, who take responsibility for making sure things are done, and who are extremely reliable and trustworthy are what we are looking for.

    If you are afraid of wildlife (bears and wolves are the most common fears), freak out about the occasional mouse in your cabin, or hate to be dirty, you are not going to be happy here. If you love animals and nature, I think you will like it here.

    Thank you for reading, and we look forward to hearing from you if this sounds like your kind of place.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have enough room for any size of vehicle.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    A dog or two is okay.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 156949999139