Help with my land and home on the Mendocino coast in Northern California


Estados Unidos

383 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    COVID-19 UPDATE! Unfortunately I cannot take any WAers at this time unless you have your own trailer/camper with toilet, shower and food prep area. If you have this, you can park your trailer/camper on my property. I can only accommodate a one week stay. I have a home on the ocean in the small town of Caspar on the Mendocino coast in Northern California. I have 5 acres of land that is mostly undeveloped. I am 4 miles north of the quaint village of Mendocino and 4 miles south of our slightly larger town, Fort Bragg. My home is steps away from Jug Handle State Reserve and beach and I have unobstructed views of the California coastline looking north. I am surrounded by State parks and other outdoor amenities that appeal to anyone who is interested in being outdoors. It is very quiet and peaceful here. Looking west out of the windows of my home or from my ocean bluff you are apt to see Canada Goose, Blue Heron, migrating whales and the sound of sea otters and seals. My property is home to red fox, deer, and many other animals and birds.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Besides being on this amazing property with the opportunity to see and explore nature and help cultivate my organic garden and orchard, I am a certificated TESOL instructor and can help you with your English (written and spoken skills). I am also a yoga instructor. I am a trained pastry chef so if you are interested in cooking or baking, I would be happy to teach you.

  • Ayuda


    I need help with: 1) I have 5 acres that need to be maintained. There is weed whacking, weeding, pulling gorse, general maintenance (light and heavy) of the garden, trees and property. If I am processing food from the garden you may be asked to help with harvesting produce, cleaning and preparing vegetables, canning or dehydrating. I am happy to teach you these skills.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    I have a one story house on the ocean. You (or you and your companion) would be staying in the master bedroom (one double bed) with your own ensuite bath, two large picture windows and all the organic fruit and vegetables you can eat from my beautiful garden. You would have use of a bicycle and there is easy transportation into town. You can eat whatever is in the house. Most of my food is procured from the garden with occasional trips to the market for staples. I have a well stocked pantry and am a vegetarian. No meat in the house but fish is okay. You are responsible for making your own food for breakfast and on your days off. I will prepare delicious, abundant, vegetarian meals when we are working together. We will be eating together most of the time and perhaps sharing the preparation of some meals. I am happy to do the dishes, so you don't have to. Smoking cigarettes is prohibited in the house and generally discouraged. Cannabis is okay (with guidelines) but no harder drugs. I cannot accommodate your pet so if you are traveling with a dog, cat, rabbit or whatever, please don't contact me, as I will just have to tell you that I can only accommodate two-leggeds.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This is a very scenic area with lots of amenities including biking, hiking, walking, fishing, picking wild berries, many State parks, reserves and preserves. I have a bicycle you can use to bike paved trails or to ride into town. There is also a local bus that goes to the village of Mendocino and to Fort Bragg. If I can, I am happy to take you somewhere. My village of Caspar, although very small (600 people) has a thriving community center with a monthly open-mic pub night, community pancake breakfasts, concerts and events, etc. Because I live in a small, rural community, please be aware that you will have limited (and sometimes) no access to the internet and cell/mobile phone coverage can be spotty (unless you have Verizon, which is slightly better).

    I have personally traveled to 59 countries and enjoy folks from different cultures. English is my only language. Generally I am a quiet person. If you play an instrument that is awesome, please bring it with you. I value my privacy but you will be sleeping in the master bedroom, and have complete access to the kitchen and living room. Please note that this is NOT a cannabis growing operation, and thus, there is no work related to that industry. Typically I can only accommodate you for a one week stay so if you are looking to settle in for any length of time, this is not the right place for you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6 hours for 4 days, 3 days off

View from WAer bedroom window
Julia, your WA host!
Backyard view of coast
Entrance road to property
The house from the front

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 117196227431