Help by the sea on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand

  • Nueva Zelanda
  • 1488 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    About us: We are a writer and architect with a girl of 12 and boy of nearly 8, who live in a renovated old house overlooking the sea on Waiheke Island, just 35 minutes by ferry from downtown Auckland. We are extremely well-travelled (50+ countries) and welcome people of all cultures and outlooks, and workawayers from any country, culture or religion are welcome to enquire about staying with us. We love animals of all kinds and have a friendly dog, two 1-year-old cats, some free-range chickens, + lots of native wildlife inhabiting our garden. The kids also have a pet spider who lives in our home office (we call her Britney :) And we are soon to have a pony joining us as well...

    9 years ago we moved here from Auckland city to enjoy a more fulfilling way of life, and be as sustainable as possible. In the process, we became mostly vegetarian (and sometimes vegan). We grow some of our own vegetables and fruit organically but we don't grow as much as we'd like, so your help is appreciated with that. Climate change has made this harder!

    Our 100-year-old house often needs repairs and maintenance, and we have a big garden so there is usually a project of some kind underway.

    In general we are looking for either 1 or 2 workawayers to help with a big variety of work such as cleaning/housework, gardening, childcare, painting and possibly building work depending on your skills. If our calendar shows yellow (part available) for the dates you want, we are probably only looking for people with special skills such as building/carpentry/plumbing/ roofing and gardening/landscape experience (especially those who can use machinery such as mowers and weed trimmers) for those dates - so make sure you tell us if you have those skills when you apply.

    Waiheke is a beautiful island with lots of wineries, green spaces, bushwalks and wonderful beaches. Dolphins and orca (killer whales) are sometimes seen around the island (in winter especially) and we have lots of native birds. There is a friendly local community and lots of places to do yoga - in fact Waiheke's main yoga centre is just 5 minutes walk from us :) with fantastic yoga and meditation classes available.

    Our house is a historic old house with a close-up beautiful view over the water at Anzac Bay. We are close to a main bus route, so you can easily explore the island or get to the ferry to go into the city. You won't need a car to explore most of the island. We also have kayaks you can take out on days when the weather is good!

    Your room will be a separate garden studio (with comfy queen size bed) - so you won't be woken by children in the mornings on your days off!

    All meals are included in your stay.
    Dinner is eaten together, while breakfast and lunch is on a 'help yourself to items provided' basis.

    No smokers please. We eat mostly vegetarian and sometimes vegan food for ethical and environmental reasons, with the very occasional bit of fish or other meat (around once every 2-4 weeks). If you are vegetarian we will eat fully vegetarian food while you are here; if you are vegan we will eat a mixture of vegan and vegetarian food - you might need to make your own vegan option on occasion. (We usually use plant-based milks and yoghurt anyway but sometimes use parmesan or pecorino in Italian cooking and also sometimes use eggs – however, we do not buy commercial eggs but only use eggs from our own happy very free-range hens.)

    We are flexible about workawayer(s) also doing a little part-time paid work in the time you are not helping us, because there is A LOT of casual work available on Waiheke. (Hospitality (cafe/restaurant/barista), vineyard work, gardening, retail, babysitting, cleaning, building.) We can also support you to find a job.

    Also – at the end of 2022 we (with some friends) bought 29 hectares of beautiful ex-farmland north of Auckland – we are planning to regenerate it with native forest and started planting the first trees in May 2023. There are also horses (not ours) grazing on the land. If you are staying with us for more than 2 weeks, we will probably spend one weekend (2 days) up on the land either camping or staying in a local cabin, planting trees and/or removing weeds. There is already some forest on the land and a stream running through it with a beautiful waterfall.
    If you want to be involved in this eco-restoration project please tell us so we can plan to involve you in it :) If you don't like to work outdoors in nature (and maybe in the rain) then it's probably not for you. (Work/helping times on this project is more on a volunteer basis and will probably be longer than the days at our home, but of course you will be helping to offset your own travel to New Zealand by doing it - so the planet benefits :)

    Workawayers usually stay between 1-4 weeks with us, depending on their skills and the time of year. (Shorter stays in summer, longer in winter. In winter we prefer a 2-week stay.)

    We hope to hear from you soon :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will experience everyday life in a New Zealand family in a non-city environment, practise your English (if you are a non-native speaker), and learn about a variety of things, such as sustainability, gardening and cooking. Note that we are actively working to reduce our carbon footprint and prefer workawayers who are interested and motivated to be sustainable as possible.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    For single workawayers, a lot of the help will be gardening and cleaning help, with some cooking, animal care, activities with the kids, and general help around the house. If you are a couple, additional chores will include more gardening, painting, and possibly building, depending on your skills.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Your room will be a private, comfortable guest studio in the garden (so you can sleep in on your days off without noise from the kids :-)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Workawayers staying with us will get lots of English language experience - especially from our chatty kids, and I have also worked as an English language tutor so can offer you help too. You can also learn about organic gardening, sustainability and cooking.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Happy to have digital nomads stay and help, in between doing their work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for a campervan (but you don't need to sleep in it! :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    up to 5 hours per day, five days a week, but will often be less - especially if you are working in the summer heat.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 111997831815

Comentarios (29)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

We're looking for volunteers that can assist with getting ready for Christmas and helping on our small lifestyle farm in the Wairarapa. New Zealand
Work in a garden paradise on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand