Gardening, Jamming, Planting, Swimming…at an excellent location in Charlottesville, USA!

Favourited 54 times

  • rating

    Evaluación de anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Ultima actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos de Facebook.


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

      2 dias

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register


  • Descripción


    Spring is quickly approaching here in central Virginia. We are starting broccoli for March/April planting. Thanks to our last workaway couple, our raised garden beds are clean. Those beds are ready for more soil and amendments. We are cleaning the ornamental beds (again, our last couple made great progress here). Still, we need more weeding, mulching, and planting. The outdoor furniture needs unpacking, cleaning, sanding, and in some instances painting. Painting projects include the pasture, garden, and house fences. There are always indoor chores. We are organizing all the spaces that accumulate storage (garage, attic, and basement).

    Experience Virginia hospitality at its best! Located just outside a consistently top-ranked US small town of Charlottesville, VA, we are an active couple in our early sixties looking for help on our twenty-plus acre property. Main duties would include weeding, restoring gardens, helping in the greenhouse, and helping with organization projects indoors. During your off time, take a short drive to explore downtown Charlottesville's shops, restaurants, the University of Virginia, or visit Jefferson's Monticello or one of the many nearby trails, wineries, or breweries.

    Rob and Jane have lived in Charlottesville for over thirty years, twenty five of them on this property. Rob has his own construction business, enjoys working in the vegetable garden, and jamming with other musicians. He plays bass in his spare time. Bring your instruments. Rob would love to have you join him in the music room for a jam session! Jane is semi-retired and acts as point-person for home based projects. She is a fabulous cook and generally creative soul, dabbling in sewing, writing, painting, and more. Their son lives in DC and frequently comes to work in the woodshop.

    Of the twenty-some acres, about a quarter are clear and the rest is wooded. There is the house, a tenant cottage, a pool, a barn, and out-buildings on the property. Ornamental gardens around the house need restoring. This is mostly weeding and removal of saplings. The vegetable garden, of forty raised beds, produces potatoes, tomatoes, squash, peas, broccoli, and other produce. Jane freezes or otherwise preserves the harvest. A leveled meadow, originally used for farm production, is fallow. One project is to re-plant it with market flowers. The Rivanna River runs through the bottom of the property. It is a nice place to relax or watch the sunset there. Workaway guests have access to air-conditioned, individual bedrooms upstairs. Each have bathrooms on the same level. Couples are welcome. We are unable to accommodate children or pets. We are a smoke-free home. Please no smokers! Wifi works throughout the house. During the warm months, Rob and Jane enjoy spending time in the pool and encourage their workaway guests to do the same.

    Charlottesville is in the center of Virginia. It is half an hour drive to Skyline Drive, two and half hours to Washington, DC, and three hours to the Virginia coast. It is easily accessed by car, air, train, and bus. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Regional Airport provides daily flights to DC, New York, and other hubs. There is an Amtrak and Greyhound station downtown. Downtown Charlottesville offers First Friday art walks, free summer concerts, shops, and restaurants. The area also hosts concerts, from small venues to large stadiums. Often there are nearby music festivals, such as Lockn' and the Redwing Music and Roots festival. There are numerous wineries, breweries, day-hikes, and nature reserves within a short drive.

  • Tipo de ayuda.

    Tipo de ayuda.

    Mantenimiento Bricolage
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Ayuda


    Summer is winding down and we are starting to prepare garden beds for the winter. There is still a lot of weeding to be done as well as harvesting. We are canning, drying, and storing much of what we are harvesting. In addition to garden chores, we are wiping down and putting away all outdoor furniture for the season and taking advantage of the cooler weather to paint fences. There are always indoor chores as well - we are slowly organizing all the spaces that accumulate storage-garage, attic, and basement.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados


  • Alojamiento


    Travelers are invited to stay in the air-conditioned upstairs bedrooms, of which there are three. There are two bathrooms on the same level. If you are the only one staying there, it will be your own private bathroom. If there are other work-away visitors, you may have to share with up to one other couple. A washer/dryer is upstairs as well, and visitors are welcome to do laundry as needed. Wifi works throughout the house. Shared use of the TV in the basement family-room gives you access to Netflix, basic cable, and a DVD player. Plenty of parking on a private driveway is provided.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are up early-Rob is off to work by 6:30 and Jane's part-time job requires some 5:00 mornings. While not asleep by 8 pm, we are usually winding down around that time. We do not ask you to keep these hours, but do request that our guests keep their night-time activities reasonably quiet. We do have one dog and one cat (both very friendly) that have free access to furniture and main areas of the house-those with allergies be prepared! We cook often with meat (including pork), wheat, nuts, and milk, but may be able to accommodate some dietary restrictions, particularly (non-celiac) gluten free, dairy free, or vegetarian. If you have dietary restrictions, let us know in advance so we can work with you. Please no smokers.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Aceso a internet

    • Aceso a internet limitado

      Aceso a internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    más de dos

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers interested in horticulture and gardening will gain invaluable knowledge and experience about temperate gardening-both ornamental and edible. Rob and Jane can identify a wide range of native, ornamental, and edible plants and talk extensively about their care, special challenges each present, as well as ecologically sound gardening practices. Even better, she knows how to cook some really wonderful food from all the vegetables they get! Rob and Jane have been using Workaway for three seasons now, and love this community of interesting and hard-working people! They look forward to meeting many more in the future!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day, depending upon current projects

My Photo Album

Jane and Rob in the back meadow in the fall.
A view of the barn with the redbud in bloom in spring.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 431822757162