In Mid-Norway: Renovation of old houses from 19th Cent.

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte Workaway

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse


  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    within 22 jours



  • Description


    I am an architect by education, I have an old log cabin house from year 1866 in Møre which is a big renovation project. And I have some old farm houses in Tolga between Røros and Tynset, further east. This in much better shape and with some apartments rented out.
    I have lived in Oslo for many years where I have been running a B&B. I have had volunteers working both on the renovation site in Møre and at the B&B in Oslo on and off from 2004. It has been a very good experience.

    There are certainly enough of things to do here. My calendar is not 100% fixed. I find it difficult to plan more than two months ahead. I also have other projects which need my attention. You are welcome to ask any time even if the calendar shows red.
    I see that my rating drops when I don't answer fast enough. Sorry about that. I'll try to improve... :-)

    If you are a practical skilled person, you are welcome to send me a note, and we'll see if we can make matching plans.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage

  • Aide


    I am renovating an old house, building an addition to it and completing a new structure, a small modern cabin with parking on the roof.
    The work varies as projects move along. So far volunteers have participated in tearing down building parts, building up masonry walls, putting on new roofing (on the outhouse), building scaffolding, deck, repair siding, painting walls, putting in a window in an old wall etc. Some of the volunteers have also creatively taken the initiative to small projects of their own, like building a box for firewood, a box for organic waist, building an outdoor shower, sewing a hammock, making a pot-and-pan rack for the kitchen made of an old bike-wheel, etc.

    Volunteers should be fairly practically skilled. Experience in construction is not necessary, but having done some practical work before is a must.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Norwegian, English, some Spanish

  • Hébergement


    In Surnadal: We have guest rooms in the old house. We have a wonderful and extremely simple out-door shower. The only wonderful thing about it is the panoramic view while you take the shower. Simple outhouse-toilet facilities. Access to modern shower facilities and washing machine in the village.
    In Tolga: Modern apartment with proper facitilies.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures d'aide bénévole attendues

    5 hours a day 5 days a week


My Photo Album

Cliquer pour agrandir.

Workawayer JC and our classic arch.
Erecting a yurt.
Yurt early winter
Yurt late winter
New addition to the old house.
Progression for old house and new. Workawayer Matt just before pouring concrete on floor.
Host ref number: 18162282924a

Feedback left by and about host



Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.


Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.


Veuillez vous connecter pour laisser votre feedback.

Some of our top hosts