Carmen

  • Alemanha
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (4)

Explorer
Super Workawayer
Facebook verified

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Meu próximo destino:

    Byron Shire, Australia - desde Jan 2021 até Jan 2022
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hello dear hosts,

    I am a keen traveller, travelling mistly in the form of volunteering. I love getting to know a country and culture by living and working together with locals. I believe that by meeting each other in this way, with an open mind and heart and true interest in and tolerance for our similarities and differences we build lasting bridges of peace.

    I was born and raised in Germany but have been traveling and living in many countries in Europe, Asia and Oceania since 1991.
    I have been exploring the richness of workaway life full time since February 2018, generally staying for several weeks or months in one place (in one place I stayed on and off for nearly 2 years!).
    I am currently back in Australia where I spent the largest part of the last 20 years with my daughter. I would like to spend a year 'workawaying' on the Far North Coast where my 21 years old daughter is now living (Mullumbimby).

    I thrive in nature and simplicity and enjoy a balance of shared time with others and time alone. Some of my Inspirations are 'Peace Pilgrim', Anastasia (Ringing Cedars), indigenous cultures, Ecovillages, Permaculture, Anthroposophy, cocreating with nature intelligences and the many wonderful initiatives and people who make this world a wonderful and wholesome place to be.

    Some of my most treasured experiences in my life are:
    - international workcamps in Bangladesh and India in my early 20s
    - 10 month prep + tour in 2012 with the choir and music group 'Wayfarers Australia' in Australia, Asia and Europe,, together with my daughter. We taught and performed music and musical theatre in Steiner Schools and elsewhere and made deep and most heart-warming connections with our amazing hosts in each country.
    - walking the Camino de Santiago for 3 months from Geneva to Santiago de Compostella in 2015, for which my daughter joined me on the second half.

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Yoga/bem-estar
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Trabalho beneficente
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Sustentabilidade
    Animais
    Idiomas
    Artes performáticas
    Faça você mesmo
    Astronomia
    Culinária e comida
    Vegetariano/vegano
    Política/justiça social
    Cultura
    Autodesenvolvimento

    mostrar mais
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Projetos artísticos

    Conhecimento de:  

    Jardinagem
    Fazer companhia para idosos
    Vida na fazenda
    Projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Ensino

    Poso ensinar:  

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    I trained as a peadiatric nurse, but haven't worked as a nurse for 28 years. I resonnate most with a holistic approach to health and have worked in an anthroposophical hospital (Rudolf Steiner) and anthroposophical home for young people with disabilities.
    I have also studied TCM and Shiatsu for a year.
    I studied Steiner education and worked as a class assistant at my daughter's Steiner school. I play various recorders, some guitar, can knit, crochet, felt, sew, love cooking and baking, organising things, experimenting with new ideas,, hiking, the outdoors, building things, learning new skills,...
    For 2 years I was part of 'ACT for bees' https://actforbees.org/ a Canberra based group who educates about the importance and health crisis and needs of bees and pollinators. During this time I have developed a deep love and respect for these amazing insects and have built with a friend several native bee hotels.
    I have also had the pleasure to assist for 2 years my dear friends at the l'Arche community in Canberra, a community for people with and without intellectual disabilities.
    I love working in the garden. I am a self taught gardener and have learnt lots through trial and error, friends and books. I have set up lots of vegetable patches but have still much to learn and also things to share in this regard.
    During many volunteer experiences over the last 35 years I have tried lots of new things, from building work, farming, sheep milking and cheese making to co-managing a Vipassana Meditation Centre for 6 months, managing a refugee shelter, caring for the dying, teaching recorder, music and swimming and assisting in Steiner Kindergartens etc. I enjoy learning, learn best through doing and love working as part of a team as well as taking initiative and working autonomously where this is appreciated.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    Esta pessoa indicou ser um workawayer com interesse em compartilhar seu(s) idioma(s) ou em aprender um novo. Entre em contato diretamente para discutir o assunto.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    52

  • Nacionalidade

    German / Australian

  • Algo mais...

    As a response to the dire state of our planet and sad condition of animal farming I have chosen a vegan and where possible organic diet. I respect others' dietary choices and understand that in the vast ocean of things that need our attention to support our planet to thrive we each have our little niche that is particularly close to our heart and are able and willing to focus our energy. I celebrate each person's generosity and effort in their chosen area and trust that the pieces put together will make a wholesome world.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais
      vegan

Comentário



Amigos

Fotos

Comentário