Guy & Charlotte

  • Reino Unido & França
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Nós estamos

    em casa

    Nosso próximo destino:

    United Kingdom - desde Jun 2022 até Out 2022
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hi!

    We are a couple looking to live and work on organic and sustainable farms. I'm from England and Charlotte is from France. We are both super interested to further our skills and knowledge in agroecology, small scale farming, botany, permaculture and organic farming. We aspire to live a sustainable and simpler lifestyle, which is centred around nature and community.

    We would also love to learn other skills such as woodworking, natural building, working with animals, etc. We are generally keen to learn and give anything a go!

    We consider ourselves as friendly and outgoing people. We have both experienced a communal way of living and thrive in this environment. We also both enjoy the outdoors and value working outside. Another shared interest of ours is food! We love to grow it and cook it too.

    We both just finished working on an organic and no dig market garden in Mimizan, in France. We spent nearly two months there doing jobs such as: bed clearing, bed preparation, ground cover with manure and straw, direct seeding, planting, harvesting. We were basically getting the market garden ready after winter for the high season. We were also taking part in selling the produce once every two weeks at the local outdoor markets. We were also involved with the building of their barn and house. We helped with roofing, tiling, building a timber frame and some concreting.

    From May to December, we have been working on an organic and no dig market garden near Edinburgh. I (Guy) was working as a workaway for 5 months in the market garden and 2 months in their seasonal restaurant. Charlotte voluntereed on the market garden for 3 months around her other job and then worked in the seasonal restaurant too.

    We are both very keen to start working on a farm again and further our knowledge !

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Vida na estrada
    Trabalho beneficente
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Sustentabilidade
    Animais
    Livros
    Música
    Fotografia
    Culinária e comida
    Política/justiça social
    Cultura
    Autodesenvolvimento
    Eventos e social
    Cuidar de plantas
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Temos interesse em:  

    Vida na fazenda
    Projetos ambientais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais

    Conhecimento de:  

    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Hotelaria/turismo
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    Guy:
    I am a very outgoing person and have lots of experience in the service industry. This means I am more than happy in tourist facing roles. I've worked in a Butchers for 4 years initially doing cleaning and then serving in the shop, helping and conversing with customers etc. It is fair to say I am good at cleaning and washing up. I have also worked in the hospitality industry as a barman.

    I have some experience in farming as I worked for a no dig market garden in Scotland for 7 months. I worked the peak season in the garden carrying out a range of jobs from building beds, woodchipping, propagation, transplanting, direct seeding, irrigation, harvesting and packing. I also helped in their seasonal restaurant as Kitchen Assistant which involved basic food preparation and cleaning etc. As I mentioned it before, I also worked in a no dig market garden in France for nearly two months.

    Over lockdown, I converted a campervan and so this has given me a basic working knowledge of 12V electronics and wood working etc.

    On top of this I am willing to give nearly everything a go and I can pick things up fairly well.

    Charlotte:
    I am a trained teacher specialised in teaching French as a foreign language. I've worked in Melbourne for a year in primary and secondary schools as part of my work placement.

    However, over the past few years, I have been working in different environments such as the hospitaly industry. For instance, I worked as a chef in Scotland for a seasonal restaurant with its own market garden. It was there that I volunteered and had a first glimpse into regenerative farming doing jobs such as: beds preparation, seeding, harvesting and packing. My last work experience was in France, working on a no dig market garden as mentioned before.

    Whilst living in Australia, I spent some time travelling on the East Coast and West Coast in a van. I have also backpacked around various countries in South East Asia. While travelling, I volunteered at a community school teaching English as well as ran activities in an orphanage.

    I consider myself as someone who can easily adapt to new environments. I've shared living spaces with people for the past 8 years including living in a hostel for a year.
    I love cooking, exchanging knowledge about food and sharing a meal with everyone.

    I love learning and I'm really keen to pick up any new skills!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    Charlotte is fluent in both French and English. Guy wants to learn French as a second language.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    21 & 30

  • Algo mais...

    Guy
    I like to play racket sports like tennis and badminton. I love the outdoors and camping/ hiking. I was a scout until i was 18 and enjoy cooking on open fires etc. Finally, I also play the guitar but only as a bit of fun. On top of all this I've started surfing and this is something I want to pursue further.

    Charlotte
    I'm also interested in racket sports, I've practiced tennis for many years. I really enjoy going on hikes or treks while travelling. I appreciate too the lifestyle that travelling around in a van offers me. I travelled twice in Australia with this mode of transportation and I went on a trip around the South Island of New Zealand for a month in a van as well. I've also got a strong interest for photography and cooking.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      No

    • Dietas especiais
      No

Comentário


Amigos

Fotos

Comentário