• Finlândia
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (4)

Email verified
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou


  • Descrição

    I'm a graduate of architecture and civil engineering specializing in sustainable building and humanitarian and development aid. I finished my master's studies in June 2016, and after this I left home to travel for an unspecified period of time. During this journey I wanted to learn more about sustainability and see how I could use my skills to promote sustainable development. In particular I wanted to learn through practical work where I could share knowledge with the locals. This is why I signed up on Workaway and I used the platform a lot in Central America, Middle East and West Africa between 2016 and 2018.

    In 2018 I then found a longer volunteer opportunity in a small village in Gambia, where I spent a year leading a workshop to design and build a dormitory for a new rural vocational school together with a team of locals and international volunteers, using earth and other local materials. After this I found a job in Tanzania with a small architectural NGO that promotes the use of sustainable building techniques in Tanzania (especially compressed earth blocks). I spent two years managing various construction projects in Tanzania and finally finished my contract in in July 2021. Now I'm working as a construction manager for Medecins Sans Frontieres.

    I'm more than interested in helping in any project where I can use my skills as an architect or engineer. Even though I know the most about buildings, I'm very interested in taking part in any project that is somehow trying to make this world more sustainable. I'm particularly interested in projects that somehow benefit the local community.

    I also have a blog where I have documented the various projects volunteered in or worked with or visited while traveling. Feel free to check it out to get a better picture of my interests and experiences:

  • Interesses

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Finnish: Fluente
    Swedish: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Conhecimento de:  

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Vida na fazenda
    Projetos ambientais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    I'm an architect and can help with buildings designs. I also have practical experience with construction work, especially different earth building techniques, including adobe bricks, rammed earth, wattle and daub, cob and rammed earth tires. In 2018 I led an earth building workshop in Gambia where we built a Nubian vault, a type of roof that requires no wood, cement or steel, only mud bricks.

    I have also volunteered a lot with gardening and tree-planting in various permaculture and agroforestry projects.

    I've also studied social aspects of sustainability and have experience working with locals in participatory projects. In fact, working with disadvantaged people is what I am most interested in doing, and I see sustainable building as a tool for improving lives.

  • Idade


  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais