Mark & Fay

  • Reino Unido
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Email verified
Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Spain
    View all
  • Description

    Hi I'm Mark I've done workaway for a few years. Fay and I returned to work with a few of the hosts I met on my travels last year. We intend to travel again after Christmas 2023 to meet new hosts.
    I started my working life as a diesel mechanic, then moved into farming with some arable but manly dairy. After 10 years as a herdsman I took on my parents small holding where I've farmed sheep, goats, pigs, turkeys, cows etc for the last 21 YEARS.
    During this time I've been self employed working for local people doing all sorts of work like building a garage, flagging, roof repairs, cutting gardens, looking after church grounds, painting ect. 5 years ago I started 3 days a week as an engineer where I work with hydraulics. I have also fully renovated the farm I live in plus a holiday home in the lake district. I have 3 great kids that are grown up now and have their own lives.
    Hi, I'm Fay a retired primary and secondary English teacher ( worked in teaching for 25 years). I now work in admin but have worked in many different fields; dentistry, care work, managing a mobile Covid testing team and spent last summer supervising a team of ice cream van drivers, servicing their ice cream machines and organising stock. I love crochet, growing flowers and exploring the environment.
    Mark and I live happily together and the animals have now been sold to give us more freedom to travel. We really enjoy visiting different places abroad, we enjoy meeting local people and learning about different ways of life more than doing the tourist thing.
    We are happy to work hard in most conditions (Mark spent 12 months in Australia fruit picking in the early days). We're easy going and looking forward to meeting new people and learning how things are done in different countries.

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Self development
    Pets
    Music
    Farming
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Animals
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Vida na fazenda
    Projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais

    Some knowledge of:  

    Jardinagem
    Hotelaria/turismo
  • More details about your skills

    Diesel mechanic (old engines),most livestock and farming work, building work,landwork, working with public (worked on boat hire fleet),
    Can turn my hand to most things,and willing and hoping to learn new things from my host

  • Age

    57 & 52

  • What else ...

    I'm honest, hard working,trustworthy and keep my home clean and tidy and would teat someone else's the same. I'm happy to do most things to help and often help elderly people to jobs that they Carnt do (change light bulb,move a sofa, etc)
    I'm well know in the area I live and people say I'm easy going and allways get the job done and if I Carnt I will know someone that can.
    My main hobby is my motorcycle in the summer time.
    Looking forward to meeting you
    Thanks mark

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback